Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
The dressing for this salad was fabulous...the problem I had with this recipe was that there was way too many carrots which made the salad soggy....i guess if I would have used the carrots from the supermarket that are already shredded and dried out it may have worked. I would just use less fresh carrots next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is similar to a salad my mom makes. But the dressing needs to be tweaked. My hubby said the peanut butter was a little strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Kuhlmann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I served this to a crew of 7; even the kids went back for seconds. I used Jif "Natural" in it, which made the peanut butter too prominent; if you plan on using a natural variety, it would be prudent to dial down the amount of PB.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
This went over really well!!! Contrary to other reviews, I thought it could use a little more peanut butter, brown sugar, & chili sauce. I boiled the chicken with a little white wine, but I think it would of been much better grilled. I used spring mix, subbed 1/2 the carrots with red pepper strips, used toasted almonds in place of the wontons, & half the green onions (it was a really large bunch). After the dressing cooled, it was extremely thick, so I thinned it with mandarin orange juice. Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I thought it was great although not eaten by my husband as it had a fishy taste to the peanut sauce since it had hoisen sauce in it. The kids & myself ate it up. I think I'll use the sauce for something else in the future. I added sesame seeds to the sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This recipe was quite good and I will make it again with the suggestions of others, cut the peanut butter in half, adding the mandarin orange juice to the sauce to help thin it out as it was quite thick. I think I may even bump up the hot chile paste a tad. Thanks for the great recipe Teri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
What a great recipe. Read the reviews and added mandarin segments and almonds as didn't have the wontons. Recommend cooking the chicken in a little Hoisin - gives it a great flavour. Also added some red bell pepper for extra colour. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was fantastic! I substituted a couple of items, but it still turned out fantastic! I switched almond butter for peanut butter since that is what I had on hand. I also used napa cabbage instead of romaine. I added some shredded purple cabbage and julienned red bell pepper which gave it some extra color kick. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used powdered, but I think fresh would have been better. I also used a pre-cooked rotisserie chicken from my local market, which I thought gave it a little more flavor. I was amazed at how good the dressing turned out. This is one recipe I'll definately use for myself as well as other gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Gresham

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This recipe was okay. The peanut butter was overpowering. So I will definetely decrease the peanut butter if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
We loved this. I made the sauce as written but might use less peanut butter next time. We used rotisserie chicken and chow mein noodles instead of won tons and it was super quick and delicious. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States