Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
yum. we've made this as the recipe is - a salad. tonight we made the chicken, the peanut dressing/sauce and put that on top of the chicken and rice. We added red pepper,, green onion and mushrooms. there are many ways to serve this and not go wrong. When we cook the chicken, we cook high heat, get it a little blackened, and add sweet chili sauce, hoisin sauce and hot chili paste to flavor it. I prefer it as a salad, my husband prefers as a dinner with rice. with the sauce and seasoning, it's hard to decide. just simply yum. ETA: i tried baking the wonton strips and thoroughly burned them so I fried them in a bit of oil (1/2") on the stove. Husband doesn't like fried food much so....darn, guess I'll eat extra!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
This recipe was good, not wonderful. I made it exactly as written. The wontons were burnt way before the time was up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a really great recipe - especially with a couple variations that I think really enhance the flavor. I always get rave reviews - especially from my husband who "hates cabbage"! Add half bottle of finely miced crystalized ginger (chop until almost a powder). The ginger adds just a hint of sweetness but makes a huge improvement to the flavor. And instead of sunflower seeds, I prefer using roasted sesame seeds, which tend to blend better with the rest of the ingredients (if you don't buy them pre-roasted, you can roast them with the almonds). And finally, I ncrease the almonds by 1 1/2x to give a tad more crunch and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This was so good. I had an issue with the wontons burning in the allotted time. I only needed to keep the next batch in for 7 minutes. I also dressed the lettuce with a lime vinaigrette. The brown sauce is pretty thick and isn't quite a dressing. It's super tasty but not a dressing. I pan fried the chicken in peanut oil with salt and pepper. I subbed radish for he carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Taste like a restaurant salad. Hold back a little on the chili paste and used chow main noodles. Even the 8year old loves it. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was really good, easy and low fat! A keeper loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Janelle Pascall
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was so easy to make. I love to experiment with flavours so I substituted the rice wine vinegar with apple cider and included some shredded cucumbers in the salad. I also used crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy. Oh and I used hot curry chili paste instead of the regular hot chili paste. I would def. be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Pascall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Just ok. Far from low fat! This salad is WW points + 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
So after reading 4 of the "most helpful" reviews, I came up with the following modifications - I used chicken fingers (mainly because I love the crispiness in a salad), I divided the sauce into two, one with the peanut butter (1.5 tbsp), hoisin sauce, and brown sugar - this sauce was to coat the chicken. The second sauce, or dressing, consisted of the rice wine vinegar (2 tbsp instead of 3) , sesame oil, and rather than hot chile paste and ginger, I used a chile/garlic/ginger paste mix - this dressing was used to toss the salad prior to topping the salad with the chicken. After reading a few reviews noting that the salad was missing the "lime flavor" that allow this salad to almost match some restaurant's famous salad, I decided to add 1 tbsp of lime juice (bottled) to the dressing, and a splash or two to the sauce. I also added the 1 tbsp of rice vinegar that was omitted from the dressing to the sauce in order to thin it out. Finally, I used 1/2 bag of bagged garden salad (which had the shredded carrots, along with some red cabbage) mixed with about 8 leaves of chopped romaine. Do not leave out the cilantro, as this adds a nice flavor as well. I left out the wonton wrappers due to lack of ingredients, and lack of time. This salad is by far the best salad I have made yet! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this salad! I followed someone else's post that recommended putting a lime vinaigrette on the salad first then topping with the hoisin/peanut dressing. Perfect! I used store bought crunchy chow mein noodles that I had on hand. Definitely will be making this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States