Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
So after reading 4 of the "most helpful" reviews, I came up with the following modifications - I used chicken fingers (mainly because I love the crispiness in a salad), I divided the sauce into two, one with the peanut butter (1.5 tbsp), hoisin sauce, and brown sugar - this sauce was to coat the chicken. The second sauce, or dressing, consisted of the rice wine vinegar (2 tbsp instead of 3) , sesame oil, and rather than hot chile paste and ginger, I used a chile/garlic/ginger paste mix - this dressing was used to toss the salad prior to topping the salad with the chicken. After reading a few reviews noting that the salad was missing the "lime flavor" that allow this salad to almost match some restaurant's famous salad, I decided to add 1 tbsp of lime juice (bottled) to the dressing, and a splash or two to the sauce. I also added the 1 tbsp of rice vinegar that was omitted from the dressing to the sauce in order to thin it out. Finally, I used 1/2 bag of bagged garden salad (which had the shredded carrots, along with some red cabbage) mixed with about 8 leaves of chopped romaine. Do not leave out the cilantro, as this adds a nice flavor as well. I left out the wonton wrappers due to lack of ingredients, and lack of time. This salad is by far the best salad I have made yet! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this salad! I followed someone else's post that recommended putting a lime vinaigrette on the salad first then topping with the hoisin/peanut dressing. Perfect! I used store bought crunchy chow mein noodles that I had on hand. Definitely will be making this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I need to stop listening to reviews and just try the recipe as written first. I added a little mandarin orange juice to the dressing and now it tastes diluted. It basically ruined the salad which makes me upset because I only have a limited amount of time to cook and I want my efforts to amount to something edible. Reviews can be helpful, but unfortunately I've been led astray by a few bad ones in recent weeks. Try the recipe as written! It was wonderful before I decided to take some bad advice. Perhaps a little less hoisin sauce, but that's because I'm watching my sodium intake. Very good recipe. Make your own adjustments instead of listening to other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The whole family enjoyed this quite a bit. Made a few minor substitutions- didn't have hoisin like I thought, so used teriyaki sauce. Put in a squirt of lime juice in the dressing. Purposefully used fried chow mein noodles because the husband has had a hankering for them. And cooked the chicken in sesame oil and a little teriyaki in a saute pan. Otherwise everything was the same and quite delicious! We think next time we'd like to add avocado, even though that's more California fusion than Chinese, but we think the creamy fattiness of the avocado would pair nicely with the spicy and bright flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The dressing is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The dressing on this is soo good! Have made it a few times now. I once substituted natural almond butter for peanut butter, and that turned out really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was awesome! DO NOT BAKE the wantons, though. They must be fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this without the wontons to save on calories. I also used a healthy amount of chilie garlic paste and a touch of sriracha to add spice. It was thick and tasty. Might add a touch more cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
We included this salad in the food served at our backyard party, our goal being to prepare foods that could be served cold whenever everyone climbed out of the pool and wanted to eat. The dressing was a little too strong for our tastes, but having read the reviews, I also included the lime vinaigrette, with just a drizzle of the hoisin-peanut dressing, and it worked perfectly that way. We would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 280) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States