Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This was really good, easy and low fat! A keeper loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Janelle Pascall
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This was so easy to make. I love to experiment with flavours so I substituted the rice wine vinegar with apple cider and included some shredded cucumbers in the salad. I also used crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy. Oh and I used hot curry chili paste instead of the regular hot chili paste. I would def. be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle Pascall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
chinese chicken salads are not as healthy as you think! peanut butter, sesame oil, wontons, and sugar are ALL red foods! i definitely would not feed this to my kids when they're trying to lose weight on kurbo. check it out for yourself www.kurbo.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Laszlo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Just ok. Far from low fat! This salad is WW points + 10
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
So after reading 4 of the "most helpful" reviews, I came up with the following modifications - I used chicken fingers (mainly because I love the crispiness in a salad), I divided the sauce into two, one with the peanut butter (1.5 tbsp), hoisin sauce, and brown sugar - this sauce was to coat the chicken. The second sauce, or dressing, consisted of the rice wine vinegar (2 tbsp instead of 3) , sesame oil, and rather than hot chile paste and ginger, I used a chile/garlic/ginger paste mix - this dressing was used to toss the salad prior to topping the salad with the chicken. After reading a few reviews noting that the salad was missing the "lime flavor" that allow this salad to almost match some restaurant's famous salad, I decided to add 1 tbsp of lime juice (bottled) to the dressing, and a splash or two to the sauce. I also added the 1 tbsp of rice vinegar that was omitted from the dressing to the sauce in order to thin it out. Finally, I used 1/2 bag of bagged garden salad (which had the shredded carrots, along with some red cabbage) mixed with about 8 leaves of chopped romaine. Do not leave out the cilantro, as this adds a nice flavor as well. I left out the wonton wrappers due to lack of ingredients, and lack of time. This salad is by far the best salad I have made yet! I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
My husband and I really enjoyed this salad! I followed someone else's post that recommended putting a lime vinaigrette on the salad first then topping with the hoisin/peanut dressing. Perfect! I used store bought crunchy chow mein noodles that I had on hand. Definitely will be making this salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I need to stop listening to reviews and just try the recipe as written first. I added a little mandarin orange juice to the dressing and now it tastes diluted. It basically ruined the salad which makes me upset because I only have a limited amount of time to cook and I want my efforts to amount to something edible. Reviews can be helpful, but unfortunately I've been led astray by a few bad ones in recent weeks. Try the recipe as written! It was wonderful before I decided to take some bad advice. Perhaps a little less hoisin sauce, but that's because I'm watching my sodium intake. Very good recipe. Make your own adjustments instead of listening to other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The whole family enjoyed this quite a bit. Made a few minor substitutions- didn't have hoisin like I thought, so used teriyaki sauce. Put in a squirt of lime juice in the dressing. Purposefully used fried chow mein noodles because the husband has had a hankering for them. And cooked the chicken in sesame oil and a little teriyaki in a saute pan. Otherwise everything was the same and quite delicious! We think next time we'd like to add avocado, even though that's more California fusion than Chinese, but we think the creamy fattiness of the avocado would pair nicely with the spicy and bright flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The dressing is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The dressing on this is soo good! Have made it a few times now. I once substituted natural almond butter for peanut butter, and that turned out really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States