Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Well finally I know the secret ingredient in my favorite salad at Houston's Restaurant: Hoisin sauce. The salad was good, I just didn't love it. The sauce was good but I should have added the veg. oil as suggested by other reviewers - it clung heavily to the greens. Also I love spicy but I thought the chili paste was too much. Maybe cutting it in half or even leaving it out would be prudent. I tried 1/2 Napa cabbage, wish I had stuck with all romaine. Oh, and the wontons were great. If you cut them thin and bake them on a cookie sheet - at low heat as suggested by another user - they puff up and taste great. Make extra b/c your family might snap them up before the salad is ready. Oh, and I sauted my chicken in some hoison sauce and sesame oil. It did add a lot to the taste of the salad I thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is exactly like Houston's salad, which I love, only it is missing one piece, and i think that is what is frustrating some of the reviewers. At Houston's, the peanut sauce is drizzled over the salad (or put on the side if requested). The main dressing is a LIME VINAIGRETTE. you can make a simple lime vinaigrette if you like, or Paul Newman's line makes a light lime vinaigrette that is great - i like very few dressings out of the bottle, and this is one of them. So if you make the salad, toss it in the lime vinaigrette, and then drizzle the peanut sauce after you put the tortilla strips, then you have a Houston's chicken salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This was so good. I wish I had some left for lunch today. I doubled the recipe as a side dish for a party, and the bowl was cleaned out. I used some reviewers suggestions and added mandarin oranges and substituted napa cabbage for half of the romaine. It was a great suggestion to thin out the dressing with the juice from the oranges. The dressing smelled and tasted wonderful. I shredded the napa cabbage and romaine lettuce really fine. I also substituted chow mein noodles for the wonton wrappers to save time. Thank you, Teri for this great recipe that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissajean
Home Town: Alpine, California, USA
Living In: La Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
I made this for dinner tonight and we loved it! Really tasted like restaurant-quality. My husband said he could eat it every night! I added a can of mandarin oranges and added some of the juice to the dressing to thin it out. I also really had to keep an eye on the wontons since they browned very quickly (in about 5-7 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
This recipe was very tasty. As a bonus, it was also very pretty. This salad would be wonderful as part of a party buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
Mmm, this is a delicious one and has been put into my personal recipe collection. After reading other reviews, I also deep fried my wonton skins and I highly recommend that touch. I found the amount asked for in the recipe was more than enough however, and will probably cut it down next time. Also, on the dressing, the peanut taste is strong, so if you are not really into peanut, cut the amount back. I like peanuts but think I will still scale back the peanut butter last time. It felt like it was too overpowering and covered up some of the other lovely favorites. I found this great for a potluck. Just keep the wontons and dressing seperate till right before or things will get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This salad is wonderful. I made it for a co-worker and she just loved it. I substituted fructose in place of the brown sugar. I also added a can of mandarin oranges. I did add some canola oil to the dressing to thin it out a bit. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
This is an outstanding recipe, Teri! I've made this a few times and my whole family loves it. I have made it exactly per your instructions which are easy to follow, and I have also made it with some modifications for personal preferences. I used 1/4 cup of olive oil to dilute the seasonings in the dressing when my mom-in-law came over,and I've made the salad with cabbage a couple times. All in all, there really is no need to change a thing. Its perfect, but my family also enjoys variety. Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
Yum, yum! I really liked the sweet and mild spiciness of the dressing and the green onions, carrots, and wontons add a crunchy texture. Watch the time on the wontons ~ I only kept mine in for about 7 mins to get crispy and golden in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
Chinese Chicken Salads are one of my favorites because they're so versatile and easy to put together. I usually like to add mandarin orange segments and slivered almonds into the mix. I prefer mine over shredded cabbage and carrots (pre-mixed of course). I'm still waiting for my hubby to order me a food processor. There are several chinese salad recipes on this site, and they all sound delicious. Use your imagination with this one and enjoy. Thanks Teri.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States