Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I already had grilled chicken breasts in the freezer, so I decided this would be good for dinner since our weather here has been super hot and humid. I did make a few changes as follows: I cut back on the chile paste because the one I have is really hot. I used dried ginger and I added yellow bell pepper that needed to be used. We’re not big fans of cilantro, so I left that out. And I used Chinese rice noodles instead of the wonton wrappers. We liked this, but I did think it was a little heavy on the hoisin sauce. And my dressing was so thick that I had to thin it with a little orange juice, which worked quite well. I would make this again cutting back a little on the hoisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Love this salad. It has great flavor and crunch. After reading reviews, I used only 1 TBL peanut butter in the dressing and added, instead of napa cabbage, about 1 cup of dry broccoli slaw mix which includes shredded carrots, red cabbage, and broccoli. That added great crunch, color, and nutrition. I baked the wontons and they added a great crunch. I agree with other reviewers that 16 wrappers would have been way too much. I used one and that was enough. I did not have any mandarin oranges. However, it was excellent without them. Thank you for a delicious salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I love this salad! DH didn't love it as much as me but he did like it. It's really flavorful! The only item I didn't have was the chili paste. I used chili sauce which I am sure isn't very much like the paste but I used it anyway. I will definitely make this again - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So good! I did take a few recommendations and made a couple changes but still giving it 5 stars. I used one bad of cabbage mix and a head of romaine. Since I added more with the cabbage, I doubled the dressing. I didn't have chili paste so used 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. Added juice of one lime and some juice from the mandarin oranges I added to the salad....it was so good, tasted like right out of a restaurant but I knew the ingredients which is why I'd rather cook at home! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I realized at the last minute that I had no hoisin sauce, so I added a little light soy sauce, garlic paste, more ginger and some Chinese 5 spice powder, and got a similar effect (maybe a bit less salty, which is a win in my book). I used 1 tsp of the stronger flavored toasted sesame oil and the rest was grapeseed oil, for it's nice neutral flavor. The dressing was still a bit thick so I added some lime juice. As an afterthought I tossed in about a cup of edamame into the salad. I also only baked about 6 wontons, at 375 for about 10 minutes, but I actually forgot to even add them to my serving because it already looked so good! Really liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was very good but I did make some minor adjustments. I marinaded the chicken in soy sauce, hoisin, chile sauce, brown sugar and sesame oil before it was grilled. In the marinade and dressing, I used a sweet chile sauce because I didn't have hot chile paste. I really liked the crispy wonton pieces but 16 wonton wrappers would have been overkill. I used 6 and it was more than enough. And they REALLY don't need to be in the oven 20 mins. I did them at 300 for about 7 mins and they were nice and crispy and golden brown. I used a little less carrot, but added bean sprouts because I really like them and look for reasons to use them. Also added cashews for a little more crunch. The dressing was nice, I did add about 2 T orange juice to thin it a little. My parents said they felt it needed a lot more dressing, but my serving had plenty for my tastes. If you like your salad swimming in dressing, maybe increase it a little. All in all, we really liked this! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
This was delicious and very easy. I'm not a huge fan of peanut butter flavored dishes, so I only used 1 T peanut butter and it was great. Oh, and I used cabbage instead of romaine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
Thanks Teri for this terrific recipe! This tastes identical to a salad at Steamworks in Durango, CO. I tossed the dressing with cooked rice noodles and added that to the rest. It didn't need any additional dressing. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
This is now a staple at our house, so good and very easy to make. Thank you for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
add coleslaw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 283) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States