Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Great salad with great flavor. I have made this several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Its ok, the hoisin sauce flavor is great, but the wontons didn't do much for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinfor5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
Mike didn't really like peanut sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I would rate this so-so. The dressing was little too strong for our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Very good salad. I used shrimp instead of chicken because that's what i had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wenzel Soliday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I already had grilled chicken breasts in the freezer, so I decided this would be good for dinner since our weather here has been super hot and humid. I did make a few changes as follows: I cut back on the chile paste because the one I have is really hot. I used dried ginger and I added yellow bell pepper that needed to be used. We’re not big fans of cilantro, so I left that out. And I used Chinese rice noodles instead of the wonton wrappers. We liked this, but I did think it was a little heavy on the hoisin sauce. And my dressing was so thick that I had to thin it with a little orange juice, which worked quite well. I would make this again cutting back a little on the hoisin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Love this salad. It has great flavor and crunch. After reading reviews, I used only 1 TBL peanut butter in the dressing and added, instead of napa cabbage, about 1 cup of dry broccoli slaw mix which includes shredded carrots, red cabbage, and broccoli. That added great crunch, color, and nutrition. I baked the wontons and they added a great crunch. I agree with other reviewers that 16 wrappers would have been way too much. I used one and that was enough. I did not have any mandarin oranges. However, it was excellent without them. Thank you for a delicious salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I love this salad! DH didn't love it as much as me but he did like it. It's really flavorful! The only item I didn't have was the chili paste. I used chili sauce which I am sure isn't very much like the paste but I used it anyway. I will definitely make this again - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
So good! I did take a few recommendations and made a couple changes but still giving it 5 stars. I used one bad of cabbage mix and a head of romaine. Since I added more with the cabbage, I doubled the dressing. I didn't have chili paste so used 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper. Added juice of one lime and some juice from the mandarin oranges I added to the salad....it was so good, tasted like right out of a restaurant but I knew the ingredients which is why I'd rather cook at home! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcombs
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was delicious! I realized at the last minute that I had no hoisin sauce, so I added a little light soy sauce, garlic paste, more ginger and some Chinese 5 spice powder, and got a similar effect (maybe a bit less salty, which is a win in my book). I used 1 tsp of the stronger flavored toasted sesame oil and the rest was grapeseed oil, for it's nice neutral flavor. The dressing was still a bit thick so I added some lime juice. As an afterthought I tossed in about a cup of edamame into the salad. I also only baked about 6 wontons, at 375 for about 10 minutes, but I actually forgot to even add them to my serving because it already looked so good! Really liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States