Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I need to stop listening to reviews and just try the recipe as written first. I added a little mandarin orange juice to the dressing and now it tastes diluted. It basically ruined the salad which makes me upset because I only have a limited amount of time to cook and I want my efforts to amount to something edible. Reviews can be helpful, but unfortunately I've been led astray by a few bad ones in recent weeks. Try the recipe as written! It was wonderful before I decided to take some bad advice. Perhaps a little less hoisin sauce, but that's because I'm watching my sodium intake. Very good recipe. Make your own adjustments instead of listening to other people!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spicycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
The whole family enjoyed this quite a bit. Made a few minor substitutions- didn't have hoisin like I thought, so used teriyaki sauce. Put in a squirt of lime juice in the dressing. Purposefully used fried chow mein noodles because the husband has had a hankering for them. And cooked the chicken in sesame oil and a little teriyaki in a saute pan. Otherwise everything was the same and quite delicious! We think next time we'd like to add avocado, even though that's more California fusion than Chinese, but we think the creamy fattiness of the avocado would pair nicely with the spicy and bright flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Downeast Erika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
The dressing is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
The dressing on this is soo good! Have made it a few times now. I once substituted natural almond butter for peanut butter, and that turned out really good too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was awesome! DO NOT BAKE the wantons, though. They must be fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this without the wontons to save on calories. I also used a healthy amount of chilie garlic paste and a touch of sriracha to add spice. It was thick and tasty. Might add a touch more cilantro next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Monterey, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
We included this salad in the food served at our backyard party, our goal being to prepare foods that could be served cold whenever everyone climbed out of the pool and wanted to eat. The dressing was a little too strong for our tastes, but having read the reviews, I also included the lime vinaigrette, with just a drizzle of the hoisin-peanut dressing, and it worked perfectly that way. We would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Really delcious! As one user suggested, I added a lime vinegarette to the lettuce (see below). http://allrecipes.com/recipe/lime-cilantro-vinaigrette/detail.aspx?event8=1&prop24=SR_Title&e11=lime%20vinegarette&e8=Quick%20Search&event10=1&e7=Home%20Page
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annabanana23
Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Glad to have this recipe finally after eating this incredible salad. It was a little on the milder side (it is usually hotter when ordered in a Chinese restaurant). I will add red pepper flakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States