Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is exactly like Houston's salad, which I love, only it is missing one piece, and i think that is what is frustrating some of the reviewers. At Houston's, the peanut sauce is drizzled over the salad (or put on the side if requested). The main dressing is a LIME VINAIGRETTE. you can make a simple lime vinaigrette if you like, or Paul Newman's line makes a light lime vinaigrette that is great - i like very few dressings out of the bottle, and this is one of them. So if you make the salad, toss it in the lime vinaigrette, and then drizzle the peanut sauce after you put the tortilla strips, then you have a Houston's chicken salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I always try to compile the best suggestions when I try something-added red pepper, toasted sliced almonds and decreased the peanut butter just a little. Took it to the work potluck at the hospital-nurses are your best critics! (So little time....so we love quality!) It seemed about 50% loved it. Not as many compliments as usual. Dressing was spicier than I expected. The more I ate-the more I liked it. The best wontons are cut into 4 strips and fried a couple at a time in peanut oil. Time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
The dressing is great and tastes restaurant-quality! It goes well with Asian noodle salads, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Needs hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Wow this recipe was delicious. My family thought it was great as well. Like others next time I would only put 2 tablespoons of peanut butter in and increase the hoisin sauce by 1 tablespoon. This is a keeper for us. Thanks Teri
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Super yummy!!! Next time I'm going to add some fresh red pepper for color and crisp. The dressing makes a great satay sauce as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Great recipe! I added celery, toasted almonds, and used cabbage. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greekgoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I made some changes that made this a 4 star recipe, but it's only 3 as-is. The dressing was entirely too thick and heavy. I added about 1/4 cup of the juice from a can of mandarin oranges. I still didn't like the salad all that much, but when I added the oranges to the salad, that made all the difference. Probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Burned the oven version so I fried the second batch. Added just about a t. of garlic to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Pretty tasty! Excellent sauce. Will use more chicken next time. Cilantro is a MUST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States