Chinese Chicken Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My family loves this recipe, I too add mandarin oranges and I use a chicken pieces with a crispy coating/batter ( in freezer section) on it heat it and then cut it up, adds a lot to the salad. I always make double the dressing. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
You can also toss the dressing, chicken and vegetables (except the romaine) over cooked and drained pasta and serve Chinese Noodles and Chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianFoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aliquippa, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is awsome as is. Try it with broccoli slaw instead of the lettuce and toasted almonds in place of the wontons. Excellent!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was great! I used tofu instead of chicken (pressed the tofu for 30 minutes, and marinated it in the sauce for a bit). Did NOT make the wontons, in interest of time, it was great w/o the wontons. Also, I halved the sesame oil (make it healthier). I added fresh bell peppers, purple cabbage, one orange (diced into smaller bites). I used the juice that came out of the orange in the dressing. Also, squeezed the juice of one lime into the salad, hubby and I noticed that both the orange and the lime, added excellent flavor to the salad, and would NOT forget to put that into the salad in the future. We also felt that the salad would taste great with some nuts (maybe cashews) on top, we'll definitely add that, the next time. Definitely a salad worth making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
This was just OK. My husband and I didn't care for it that much. We thought the dressing did not taste as good as it smelled. We did eat it but wouldn't make it again. Also, the wonton strips did not take 20 minutes for me to bake - they burned after 10 minutes in my oven and I had to make them a second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
The dressing was awesome!! I almost finished the whole salad all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
This is exactly like Houston's salad, which I love, only it is missing one piece, and i think that is what is frustrating some of the reviewers. At Houston's, the peanut sauce is drizzled over the salad (or put on the side if requested). The main dressing is a LIME VINAIGRETTE. you can make a simple lime vinaigrette if you like, or Paul Newman's line makes a light lime vinaigrette that is great - i like very few dressings out of the bottle, and this is one of them. So if you make the salad, toss it in the lime vinaigrette, and then drizzle the peanut sauce after you put the tortilla strips, then you have a Houston's chicken salad. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
I always try to compile the best suggestions when I try something-added red pepper, toasted sliced almonds and decreased the peanut butter just a little. Took it to the work potluck at the hospital-nurses are your best critics! (So little time....so we love quality!) It seemed about 50% loved it. Not as many compliments as usual. Dressing was spicier than I expected. The more I ate-the more I liked it. The best wontons are cut into 4 strips and fried a couple at a time in peanut oil. Time consuming, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
The dressing is great and tastes restaurant-quality! It goes well with Asian noodle salads, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Needs hot sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 101-110 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States