Chinese Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
A PERFECT dressing for oriental salads!! Giving only 4 stars because I DID mix in a little Sesame Seed oil, along with the vegetable oil, and added bean sprouts, shredded cabbage, and snow peas to the other ingredients in the salad. Also substituted shredded, baked wontons (from another recipe on this site) for the chow mein noodles. My husband said this was the best oriental salad he's ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is my son's favorite salad. I used 1 tablespoon of Splenda instead of 4 tablespoons of sugar and I also added 1/4 cup of peanut oil for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
People always ask me to make this for get-togethers and it's the only lettuce salad my husband will eat. The dressing is delicious and it's a favorite of everyone's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
I modified the recipe a bit. I didn't have chow mein noodles or water chestnuts, used dry roasted peanuts instead of almonds and added mandarin oranges. It was great! The dressing (I used white wine vinegar) is really what brings the whole salad together, no matter what ingredients you have in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Loved this salad! For the chicken on top, I cut chicken breast into thin strips and dipped it in an egg/hoisen sauce mixture, breaded with crused cornflakes and fried. May add mandarin oranges next time, as well. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I tried this recipe for my husband who loves a Chinese Chicken Salad at a local restaurant. For ease in preparation, I used a bag of pre-made salad, which had carrots and red cabbage, and left-over rotisserie chicken. Also, as suggested by another reviewer, I added mandarin oranges. With these changes, this salad was easily made within 8 minutes - great for busy weeknights. However, the dressing was a bit bland. The recipe doesn't state which vinegar to use, so I would conclude she meant white vinegar. I suggest you use cider vinegar to give it some zing. Also, you may want to add a couple of teaspoons of Teriyaki sauce. I think that really helped it a lot. Although the dressing needs to be tweeted a bit for personal taste, it is a recipe worth trying and keeping. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Loved the water chestnuts and almonds. I also added mandarin oranges for color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I have made this recipe many, many times and everyone ALWAYS loves it. My married daughter begs me to make it for every family get together. And...It is so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made this today and it was a great hot weather salad to have with leftover rotisserie chicken that I got at the grocery store earlier this week. I added about 1 T of sesame oil to the oil and also used 1/2 olive and 1/2 veg. oil (using the tablespoon of sesame oil to fill up the 1/2 c. I used rice wine vinegar. I added a large can of mandarin oranges and pea pods (cut in half). I used rice noodles instead of chow mein noodles. If I had ginger on hand, I would have grated some in the dressing. I think I'll leave the poppy seeds out next time. They really don't add much. This was a very nice salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was really good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States