Chinese Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
People always ask me to make this for get-togethers and it's the only lettuce salad my husband will eat. The dressing is delicious and it's a favorite of everyone's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This is my son's favorite salad. I used 1 tablespoon of Splenda instead of 4 tablespoons of sugar and I also added 1/4 cup of peanut oil for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2005
A PERFECT dressing for oriental salads!! Giving only 4 stars because I DID mix in a little Sesame Seed oil, along with the vegetable oil, and added bean sprouts, shredded cabbage, and snow peas to the other ingredients in the salad. Also substituted shredded, baked wontons (from another recipe on this site) for the chow mein noodles. My husband said this was the best oriental salad he's ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
I thought this was really good...I loved how easy it was to put together, I needed a really fast salad for a Chinese dinner I was putting together that used up ingredients that I had. Although I thought it was really good, my husband just thought it was "okay" so I probably won't make it again. But thank you, I thought it was great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2006
I have made this recipe many, many times and everyone ALWAYS loves it. My married daughter begs me to make it for every family get together. And...It is so simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
This was really good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Loved the water chestnuts and almonds. I also added mandarin oranges for color and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I tried this recipe for my husband who loves a Chinese Chicken Salad at a local restaurant. For ease in preparation, I used a bag of pre-made salad, which had carrots and red cabbage, and left-over rotisserie chicken. Also, as suggested by another reviewer, I added mandarin oranges. With these changes, this salad was easily made within 8 minutes - great for busy weeknights. However, the dressing was a bit bland. The recipe doesn't state which vinegar to use, so I would conclude she meant white vinegar. I suggest you use cider vinegar to give it some zing. Also, you may want to add a couple of teaspoons of Teriyaki sauce. I think that really helped it a lot. Although the dressing needs to be tweeted a bit for personal taste, it is a recipe worth trying and keeping. We really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
The women at my women's ministry meeting love this so much that every time our theme is Chinese they all (15) beg me to bring that wonderful salad. This is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royse City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Thank You Lea! This is so easy to make and I just loved the flavor. I took one bite and knew I will make it again very soon. I wouldn't change a thing in this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States