Chinese Chicken Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
OMG, this recipe is so good! I added fresh snow peas, baby corn, red pepper and mandarin oranges. To the dressing, I substituted 1/4 C. ea. veg. & olive oil, 1 Tbsp. sesame seed oil, rice vinegar and left out the poppy seeds. The next time I make this, I might try using bean sprouts, celery, shredded cabbage instead of lettuce, and dry roasted peanuts instead of (toasted) almonds (Other reviewers have suggested many of these changes.) This will certainly become a family favorite, it's easy to make, and it's quick to put together at the last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
This was great! I used 1/2 olive oil and 1/2 sesame oil, rice vinegar and splenda in place of the sugar. Also added ground red pepper and garlic powder. The dressing is fabulous and I always have these ingredients at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JasBradley
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
This was delicious! I added sesame oil and mandarin orange segments and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Really liked this recipe. I added mandarin oranges and didn't have almonds but other than that followed the recipe exactly. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Great salad! Although I didn't make the dressing. Instead I used Kraft's Asian Sesame Dressing. But I'd like to try making it sometimes. I made this salad for a reunion. I doubled it. I added julienned carrots, extra chicken, bean sprouts and mandarin oranges. And it was GONE fast! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
This is excellent! I used a spring mix of lettuces and bought a rotissere chicken to save on time and get a really good flavor. Read the reviews about the vinegar so I used seasoned rice vinegar with a splash of distilled vinegar for the dressing and it was fantastic. I took this to work so I kept the lettuce separate, mixed the chicken, onions, and waterchestnuts in a bowl and put the noodles and almonds in another bowl. The salad was put together right before eating without the salad dressing. Each person added their own salad dressing because we all take lunches at different times and I did not want the lettuce to wilt. I got rave reviews over this recipe with several asking for the recipe. I have made it twice in the same week. You won't be disappointed by this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Excellent! I used wok oil and added just a couple of drops of Terriaki sauce to the dressing. I wanted to used apple cider vinigar but I only had white, so I also added a squirt of apple juice from my daughters juice box! I added oranges, and yellow peppers for color. Between the three of us it was gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Really dressing. I added quite a bit more pepper and some sesame oil. I didn't have poppy seeds but I didn't miss them. It was a good balance of vinegar and oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I made this today and it was a great hot weather salad to have with leftover rotisserie chicken that I got at the grocery store earlier this week. I added about 1 T of sesame oil to the oil and also used 1/2 olive and 1/2 veg. oil (using the tablespoon of sesame oil to fill up the 1/2 c. I used rice wine vinegar. I added a large can of mandarin oranges and pea pods (cut in half). I used rice noodles instead of chow mein noodles. If I had ginger on hand, I would have grated some in the dressing. I think I'll leave the poppy seeds out next time. They really don't add much. This was a very nice salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love my Doxie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
declicious! loved the crispy noodles! and a very
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States