Chinese Chicken Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Yum, with modifications. I made it the night before (much better flavor) and then heated it the next day and made lettuce wraps with it as the filling (made a sauce for the wraps of rice wine vinegar, oyster sauce and a little sugar). To the sauce for the chicken mixture I added oyster sauce and some sugar. I must admit that I cheated and used pre-cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I think this is good BUT with some changes. I used long grain and wild rice, added garlic, baby spinach and crushed red pepper. I also replaced 1 tbsp of the EVOO with sesame oil. IMO - the 1st day it is not that good at all but after sitting in the fridge overnight it was better. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was ok the first day, but could hardly choke it down the next day. I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make something, so if I were to make this again (which I'm not planning on) I would follow the suggestions of what other reviewers have done to make this edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I dunno, something just wasn't cohesive with this for me. Maybe I chose the wrong kind of brown rice or something, but it was kind of mushy and was just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was OK, but seemed to be missing something. I definitely think the dish improved after refrigeration, but I don't want to make it again. I tried adding cashews after eating a few bites and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is so addicting and easy to make! I use a can of bamboo shoots rather than the water chestnuts but other than that I keep everything the same. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Pretty good- go easy on the salt with "salt & pepper to taste". The soy sauce adds more than you would expect. Very very good side dish for an asian-inspired meal. I marinated overnight and left out the celery and water chestnuts. The taste is there immediately though- still good without marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly. My family enjoyed it, but didn't love it as much as I did. I ate it for the next couple of days for lunch!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philipsgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was soooo good! I made a few adjustments that made it delish. I added about 1/4 cup of seasame oil and 1/4 cup of oyster sauce to the liquid dressing. Also, I sauted the chicken and mushrooms and bell peppers first, then let it simmer in the dressing for about 10 min. Then I added the rice, and tossed it all togethor, and eat it more like a warm rice dish than a salad! It tasted great! Will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Delicious! I strongly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States