Chinese Chicken Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Absolutely delicious!!! I followed the recipe exactly. My family enjoyed it, but didn't love it as much as I did. I ate it for the next couple of days for lunch!! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philipsgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This is so addicting and easy to make! I use a can of bamboo shoots rather than the water chestnuts but other than that I keep everything the same. So delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Mons, Hainaut, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Delicious! I strongly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
This was soooo good! I made a few adjustments that made it delish. I added about 1/4 cup of seasame oil and 1/4 cup of oyster sauce to the liquid dressing. Also, I sauted the chicken and mushrooms and bell peppers first, then let it simmer in the dressing for about 10 min. Then I added the rice, and tossed it all togethor, and eat it more like a warm rice dish than a salad! It tasted great! Will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
Yum, with modifications. I made it the night before (much better flavor) and then heated it the next day and made lettuce wraps with it as the filling (made a sauce for the wraps of rice wine vinegar, oyster sauce and a little sugar). To the sauce for the chicken mixture I added oyster sauce and some sugar. I must admit that I cheated and used pre-cooked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Pretty good- go easy on the salt with "salt & pepper to taste". The soy sauce adds more than you would expect. Very very good side dish for an asian-inspired meal. I marinated overnight and left out the celery and water chestnuts. The taste is there immediately though- still good without marinating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
This was OK, but seemed to be missing something. I definitely think the dish improved after refrigeration, but I don't want to make it again. I tried adding cashews after eating a few bites and that helped a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CRUISEM
Reviewed: May 4, 2009
I think this is good BUT with some changes. I used long grain and wild rice, added garlic, baby spinach and crushed red pepper. I also replaced 1 tbsp of the EVOO with sesame oil. IMO - the 1st day it is not that good at all but after sitting in the fridge overnight it was better. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
I dunno, something just wasn't cohesive with this for me. Maybe I chose the wrong kind of brown rice or something, but it was kind of mushy and was just weird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Craig, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This was ok the first day, but could hardly choke it down the next day. I always follow the recipe exactly the first time I make something, so if I were to make this again (which I'm not planning on) I would follow the suggestions of what other reviewers have done to make this edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States