Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I doubled this recipe and it fed four people with a side of Szechwan Shrimp. As such, I removed the chicken and replaced it with frozen peas and carrots. Amazing! BUT, be warned! The recipe calls for 2 WHOLE onions for 4 cups of rice. I realized as I was chopping them up this was simply too much. I used about 1 1/4 onions (about 2 cups I want to say) and that was plenty. It tastes exactly like what you'd get at a nice Americanized Chinese restaurant. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Delicious! My first successful attempt at this fairly easy dish. Use cold rice, definitely! I made two cups of rice in the microwave the night before & popped it in the fridge. After reading several reviews, I decided to use sesame oil ~ this is a MUST, imho. Along with sautéing the onions, I added two cloves of minced garlic and a sprinkling of powdered ginger. This is what created that yummy authentic Chinese food aroma ~ and flavor. I also used frozen peas & carrots and upped the egg to 3. Used about a 11/2 lbs of chicken breast I had mostly thawed and then sliced thin. This was quick, easy and tasted AMAZING ~ just like take-out! The only thing was that I went easy on the soy because we like to season to our individual taste at the table. This made a ton for the two of us....lots of leftovers and I read it freezes easy. I would also try to add a tablespoon of oyster sauce next time. Great recipe ~ I didn't follow it exactly, but thank you for giving me the basics. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
doubled the recipe and added minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Matilda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great simple recipe! I can't believe how few ingredients there are yet it was delicious. I didn't add the chicken as I was serving it along with a chicken stir-fry. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
I didn't have eggs or cooked chicken but I had raw chicken and a lot of leftover rice. I seasoned the chicken with garlic salt then sauteed/cooked it in butter, took it out then added more butter, cooked the carrots and onion then added the rice, black pepper, soy sauce and chicken. Still came out great even with the bare minimum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hereford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I found this to be an excellent and easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSADAISY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Good flavor but way too much pepper it over powers everything else in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spooner, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Cameron, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
The recipe was very easy to follow and cook. It turned out fantastic and was super good. The only thing I will change the next time I fix it is to decrease the pepper. The amount it called for made it a bit to peppery for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marinemompetie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Love this!!! even my picky kids will eat it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
This was tasty and really easy to make. I didn't have any peas to add, and thought it really needed a little color, so I chopped up some fresh spinach and tossed it in with the onions until it slightly wilted. Next time I may add red bell pepper for a little more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 935) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States