Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
My husband & I both loved this rice! My husband said it tasted "magical" and asked me to make it again ASAP. I served it with Perdue General Tso Chicken (heated the frozen chicken with its ginger teriyaki sauce) and a bag of fresh mixed vegetables (carrots, brocoli, green beans mixture) which I stir fried in bottled teriyaki sauce. It was a great & easy quick meal with very little effort or time spent preparing it. Wish we would have had egg rolls or spring rolls with it too. The only changes that I made to this rice recipe were: 1 tsp of garlic powder, 1 tsp of sesame oil, 1 cup of fresh tiny peas: just because the fried rice that we order from our local Chinese food takeout, has those additions. And I think these 3 additions pushed this recipe from a 4 star into a five star, for our tastes. I wish there were leftovers! But my husband ate it all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This is a delicious, easy way to use up leftover chicken and rice. I added 2 cloves minced garlic, sliced bell pepper, and broccoli while the onion was cooking. I also increased the soy sauce to 4 TBSP (I used low sodium). It took much longer for 10 minutes to cook, but it was worth it. Next time I will try adding peas and mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My Mom made the recipe and the Dish was alright. It was just missing something because the chicken meat was dry. I even tried to throw in some Oyster sauce in the thing and it was still very dry, the chicken that is. The chicken being dry, is the only thing that's preventing this recipe from getting FIVE stars. But the recipe is very easy to make and it's super easy to make alterations to the recipe to make it yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This is a simple recipe with a light, fresh flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I've made this a couple of times and could never quite tell what was missing until I came across a fried rice recipe on youtube. The missing flavor is garlic powder and sugar, i.e 2Tbs garlic and 1Tbs sugar (or more sugar if desired). Don't get me wrong, this is a very good recipe. I just like it more so with the added flavor. Also, I added a half cup of chopped carrots and celery. Hope this was helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I added in a can of drained mixed vegetables and some peanuts, a little more soy sauce and garlic powder, used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and a bit less pepper than called for, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
this is such an amazing easy recipe and very tasteful... I added carrots and garlic in with the onions as i sauteed them, the only thing is that i found the black pepper over powering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Dickerson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
I was quite surprised at how well this turned out for such a simple recipe. I started with day-old cold rice and added a small bag of frozen vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyDaysNora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
As other people have suggested, using sesame seed oil will lend a more traditional flavor. I used it with canola while mixing all of the ingredients. I also drizzled rice vinegar and blended it all very well. I like this recipe better than any other versions I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I added brown sugar (for some sweetness), peas, carrots, green onions, and a little garlic. Also some extra soy sauce due to the extra ingredients. Turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,002) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States