Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MaryTee
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This is a good base recipe. However, with my in-laws being Chinese and owning a Chinese/Vietnamese Restaurant for a few years, I have picked up a few tips that I thought I would share with you. I cubed 3 uncooked chicken breast into little pieces and seasoned it with salt, pepper, garlic powder, onion powder, and a tablespoon of oyster sauce (found in the international aisle of your local supermarket--and don't worry, it doesn't taste like oysters). Heat up 2 TBS of butter with 1 TBS of sesame oil, then add 3 cloves of minced garlic with the chicken. Cooked until no longer pink, then I add about 4 sticks of thinly sliced Chinese sausage (found in asian markets). Cook for 1-2 minutes. Add 4 scrambled eggs to the meat. Cook for 3-4 minutes, then add a 16oz bag of frozen peas/carrots mixture. I mix in about 7 cups of cooked Jasmine rice (must be cold). Add soy sauce (about 1/4 Cup) and stir fry until light golden brown. Stir in chopped green onions and sprinkle in black pepper to taste. Voila, authentic Chinese Fried Rice in about 15 mins. Hope this helps... ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2444 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2007
This is a good foundation for fried rice. Be SURE to use sesame oil - not regular oil - since that is one of the basic flavors of Chinese cooking. Add garlic, ginger, sesame seeds, and salt and pepper. Also - make sure that your rice is cooled before you mix it in, otherwise it will become a think, starchy mess. If you want a sweeter flavor, add some teriyaki or stir-fry sauce to taste. Use a wok! This is a great recipe to have fun with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
520 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Lovely meal. Must use rice that has been fully chilled or it will clump together.`Also it needs some garlic and additional spices to give it that authentic chinese flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
241 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2003
My family loved this one. I used a freshly cooked batch of rice, so the end product was a little sticky. Next time I would use left over rice. I sauted grated carrots and celery first, then added the chicken for a softer texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GERRIERPH1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
Excellent recipe except I omitted the eggs and green pepper and used scallions instead of regular onion. I also added about a teaspoon of Hoisin sauce (found in the Asian section of your local grocery store). Gave it a really good flavor. I will definitly make it again! I forgot to mention that I added a 1/2 teaspoon of fresh grated ginger root also. It made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lyons, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
really tasty. i used brown rice, and bean sprouts instead of celery. excellent, gave me some great ideas for some other stir frys. the snow pea pods were the highlight of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Augie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rahway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
I used this recipe as a cooking and "shopping for ingredients", training opportunity. (twelve year-old kids) I fixed this as the main meal and Gyoza (Japanese dumplings) for an appetizer. The kids (and parents) loved this! I cooked it all in one large wok. I like a little extra "Bam!" as Emeril would say. So, I added about two tablespoons of schechwan sauce. The chicken was cooked in olive oil over a med-high heat. The chicken shredded as the dish neared completion. This will definitely be fixed again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
i tried it with my husband and it was good. You can't tell if it was made at a restaurent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This recipe is very delicious, and fast and easy to make. My very picky 2-year-old ate tons of it. I omitted the eggs and added broccoli to mine. It was perfect. One thing to make sure you do is wait to add the pea pods until the last couple minutes, because they turn brown and mushy if you cook them too long. I waited until it was time to add the rice, which was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIMARIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portage, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nagoya, Aichi, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
No, this is not an "authentic" recipe, but knowing that, it still is pretty good. I love Asian-flair foods while my boyfriend and roommate do not! This was a good compromise because both of them repeatedly stated that this was good. So, for those who eat this type of food alot, it may not suit your tastes but for those that are "new" to this type of food, would likely enjoy this recipe. Plus, you can add whatever veggies you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States