Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe and so easy to make. Everything cooks in one frying pan so fast and easy clean up too. Very simply to substitute what you have on hand. I added a teaspoon of oyster sauce as suggested but not sure it added anything to the taste. I cooked the egg in the fryer first omelette-like and then sliced it up and set it aside to add at the very end. I also added a generous tablespoon of garlic to the onion while frying. The rice absolutely MUST be made a day ahead for this recipe to turn out well. I didn't have any carrots but didn't miss them either. Reheated very well the next day for my lunch so this is real keeper meal for me. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I read every single review (184 of them) and was so surprised that not one of them mentioned that the rice should be 2-3 days old, not just chilled. In addition, to keep the rice grains separate like restaurant rice, add about 1 tsp. or so of oil to the rice and mix thoroughly with your hands. Follow these two suggestions and there will be no clumpy rice. I used brown rice cooked in chicken broth, which was so good I could have eaten just that alone. Brown rice takes longer to cook than white rice, but is so much healthier (all the natural nutrition is removed when it is made white), and it tastes so much better. This is a great basic recipe with lots of helpful tips from other reviewers. Thanks for the recipe and the reviewer’s contributions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
I made the recipe according to the directions. It was very good. Everyone really liked it!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
pretty good recipe. I rated it a 5 star because husband and daughter liked it and its a good recipe to use up the end of the week veggies.{like one rater stated} Took alittle time to cut up everything and cool the rice. I did add garlic and sauteed with the onion and also sprinkled in ground ginger. Cooked the carrots with the oinion and added a little more sesame oil in the last step. Thank you Sal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I love this recipe! Like the other reviewers I add a little oyster sauce and seasonings to chicken when I cook it. Also cook the chicken with some ginger and garlic. And if you don't have day old rice, I will make a fresh batch and spread it out a bit and freeze for an hour or so. It works the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very easy to make. I modified the vegetables a little bit, using regular frozen peas instead. Everything else I had on hand, it was quick week night dinner. I used fresh rice from the rice cooker, I found the end result to be quite similar to what you get at a hibachi style restaurant (Benihana). My kids ate it all and asked for more, That's the best compliment a mom can get when trying a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYCTERIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tujunga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovinghappyhome
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Didn't have all the ingredients on hand (had no pea pods or peppers), but this recipe worked really well for me in a pinch! It was exactly what I was looking for and tasted great! Thanks so much for sharing :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinghappyhome

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I think this is a good basic recipe. I recommend tossing the cooked chicken with soy sauce and then sautéing fresh minced garlic and ginger with the chicken mixture. Add the veggie and cooked rice, and after some time the scrambled eggs. In no time you've got a quick meal! My family enjoyed it! -Tracy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
There is one element not taken into account here. You have to know how the restaurants make the rice so it does NOT stick together. Fortunately this was shared to me several years ago and I am sure it is still the way it is done. I was told long ago, that to make your rice NOT stick together you had to wash it thoroughly to remove the starch from the outside of the rice before cooking. The first time I did it I found out that you also have to know how much water to leave in it after washing. This was more difficult at the time than it sounds. To alleviate that problem I put the rice and proper amount of liquid in the pot before I washed it and noted the water level, so I could strain off the overage before cooking. Hope this helps with the clumping issues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States