Chinese Chicken Casserole Surprise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
The reviews for this recipe are all over the place. I seldom use canned soups in recipes, but I do have a tuna casserole that I’ve been making for years which has chow mein noodles, mushroom soup, water chestnuts, and celery, so I thought I might like this one. Tasted it before it went into the casserole dish, and yes, it was a little bland, so I added some chopped onion, pepper, and some freshly grated ginger. I also sauteed fresh mushrooms instead of the canned (I just don’t use them). As another reviewer noted, the chow mein noodles are supposed to soak up the liquid replicating pasta, and they’re not supposed to be crunchy. The casserole was just a little soupy, so I would cut back on the chicken broth the next time, and as my husband suggested, some crushed red pepper flakes would be a nice addition. As far as the nuts go, I would have preferred slivered almonds instead of sliced (I think they got lost in the casserole), but I think I’ll substitute cashews the next time and even add some chopped red bell pepper. Bottom line, you just need to modify this to your own personal tastes, but it was pretty darn tasty with the modifications made. I garnished with some sliced green onions which gave it a little bit of color. I definitely will make this one again. Sorry for the long review, but I just felt it was necessary after some of the horrible reviews this recipe was given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This recipe came out terribly for me. Maybe I did something wrong but I thought I followed the recipe correctly. My end result was extremely soupy and very very bland. I did like the crunch of the water chestnuts, almonds and celery. I would also put the noodles on top at the end and not mixed into the casserole. I like some of the other reviewers suggestions about spicing it up. Unfortunately, I doubled this recipe and have a pan and a half of it left to try to salvage. I can't afford to toss it. So I will be putting some of those other suggestions to use. I can't imagine cream soup and chinese going together but I liked the one-dish convenience and so gave it a try. I liked KDJ's suggestions for this recipe. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hobbs, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This recipe might have been alright if I had left out the almonds. It was way too many almonds for the recipe. Felt like all we were eating were almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
this recipe, as is, would only get a 2 from me. I modified it alot, and it's...still just ok. i read all the posts about it being too bland, and that's my biggest fear in food--TOO BLAND??? so, i added crushed red pepper, a chili pepper sauce, and lots of ginger & garlic. I would have liked to add some OJ to the mix and i think it would have taken away from the "brothy-soy" flavor. I was really hopeful about this recipe, and when i finally tasted it with all my mods, i would have to say it tasted like chinese stew. Neither good nor bad. I wouldn't call it a casserole either. So...if you decide to make this, be prepared to expound upon this recipe....ALOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingwithpanda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Loved this and everyone else did too - not a bite of it left!! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VDeverell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Ocoee, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I always hate to not give good reviews, but unfortunately we did not care for this recipe at all. I made it according to the recipe, and we thought it was soggy and way too salty. We ate it the first night, but since there is only three of us there were leftovers which we ended up tossing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
just ok, kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 143sidney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
It was a little liquidy and taste was good. It's just average in my mind. That should not be seen as a negative thing. It's just not something that I would put into the regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Valley, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This is very similar to a recipe my Grandma used to sometimes make when it was her turn to host her weekly Bridge Club when I was a child. I loved that dish and am glad to find it on here. I've noticed a couple of people remarking about the noodles not being crunchy if you mix them into the casserole, but really, they're not supposed to be crunchy because they're substituting for egg noodles. The noodles absorb the liquid and give the dish body. Delicious recipe; it really takes me back. Thanks for posting this, Pat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellen Crow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Had a bunch of teenage boys come over un expectantly. To stretch recipe, I mixed in 3 cups of cooked noodles. Chicken was cooked with onions, garlic, oyster sauce and half teaspoon of cayenne. Kids thought it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States