Chinese Chews II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Delicious! I substituted pecans for the walnuts because i like pecans more. I dont know what is Chinese about these but I did like them. the bottom is like a shortbread cookie but a little crumbly, the top was like a pecan pie with coconut. Some reviews say the bottom layer is boring but i found it perfect. if it were any sweeter, everyone would be complaining about that. the top is so sweet you need a more bland bottom. loved this ?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HBschoolgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2011
Amazing! I make this every Christmas and my family craves it. You should really try this! It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Not at all the Chinese Chews grandma made. The bottom layer was very bland and the top too wet. Picture looks like the correct version but instructions list two layers and it is NOT right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
My mom used to make these and we couldn't remember the name. Well I typed coconut into allrecipes one day to find a dessert recipe and up it popped. I was so happy. I love pecan pie, but most of the time it's so daunting to make. This is easy, and you can always use pecans in place of the walnuts. And my crust turned out perfectly. Just get in there with your hands and really mush it together. Make sure to let them sit for awhile either at room temperature or in the fridge. Miss impatient me had to grab a piece 30 minutes after they came out. Tasted amazing, but was a little runny. I put the rest in the fridge for two hours and they were fantastic. Try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk River, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pillager, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I'm pretty much the baker at my office and usually make cupcakes for special occasions. I finally tried something different. I looked this recipe up by the ingredients I had at home (flour, sugar, coconut) and added pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone absolutely loved these and I've never had so many requests for a recipe. Very good, thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
These are incredible!! I have made these several times and I always am asked for the recipe. What a delicious treat. Someone stated that they taste like a little pecan pie, and they do! I have never noticed the floury taste that others find in the crust. It is the same as a lemon bar crust, and is really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJSmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Yummy-I made these for a church potluck and everyone loved them. At least four people asked me for the recipe. They were so easy too! And they look pretty! I had several friends call me up and say, "Can you bring me one of those thingys that you had the other day? They were so delicious!" Come on now, every cook wants to hear that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AsiaKym

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I only made half what the recipe originally calls for. I didn't want to start experimenting with a big batch. I'm glad I did that, because I didn't like the crust at all. It turned out crumbly and kind of half cooked. I could also detect the flour tatse easily. I liked the topping part,it was soft, not too much chewy though. I would definitely recommend a different crust to compliment the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
These were delicious! Made them for Mother's Day and they were a hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I'm not sure what I did wrong because the cookie crust came out really crumbly and kind of... gross. When eaten, it turns into this chalky mush and tastes faintly of flour. The walnut and coconut topping however was perfect, but I suggest using a traditional recipe for butter cookies for the bottom crust when you bake it. Oh, and also, I couldn't figure out what's so Chinese about these cookies. Any answers?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States