Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My family loves this salad! We use the coleslaw mix with carrots, green onions and we double the amounts for the dressing, with the exception of the sugar (we generally use 3 tbls instead of 4 tbls). It seems perfect with double dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was a perfect side dish to our pot stickers last night. I love the asian flavors (I used the shrimp flavored Ramen Noodles/spice packet). I did need to add a bit more rice vinegar and I used 1 tsp of sesame oil, to have enough dressing to coat the amount of cabbage that I had (I didn't really measure my cabbage though, just used 1/2 of a small head that I had in my frig to use up). I also added a few green onions cut on the diagonal, just for an added touch of color). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I agree with MommyBennett. It's the rice Vinegar and the sesame oil that give it the authentic Chinese flavor. I just looked at my bottle of sesame oil and it is made in Tokyo, Japan. (Who knew?). I live alone and can nosh on this recipe for several days. I really don't mind when the ramen noodles get soft. They just soak up the flavors. The toasted sesame seeds make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Loved it!!!!!! I added a tablespoon or so of Laura Scudder crunch peanut butter and some cumin which gave it more depth. I'm making it tomorrow for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Was even better the next day? Was skeptical about not cooking the cabbage, but it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Gold

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have been making this salad for a couple of years. We love it. I toast the ramen noodles also. Sometimes I add toasted almonds to it when I toss it for extera crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very, very good! I changed nothing in the recipe. Since the recipe did not designate a particular flavor of ramen noodles and because I like spicy food, I used a chicken picante flavor. I hoped there would be a hot element to the dish, but there wasn't. However, it was good and I wouldn't change a thing. I didn't use all the toasted sesame seeds but someone else might. I ate 1/3 of the bowl by myself because it was so crunchy and good. I will make it again for sure. Thanks for such a good recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARY5140

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Very good! I didn't have sesame oil and it was still good! I put a couple splashes of soy sauce in the dressing! Would be great with green onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanon K ♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cynthiana, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
YUMMY! All around awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Didn't have rice vinegar, so I used balsamic. Soooooo good, quick & easy. Great sesame flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Mad Hatter Salad

A slaw-based salad with broccoli florets, ramen noodles, and a tangy dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States