Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I make this salad for potlucks or family functions. It's great! Everyone loves it :) However, it must be eaten the first day because like any salad, it gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I've made this 5 times this summer, so easy & so good! I use a bag of shredded coleslaw mix to be quicker. Everyone loves it & it's not as salty or high in sugar as several other recipes for this salad. Cheaper too w/o the cashews. I bought the sesame oil, pre-toasted sesame seeds & rice vinegar for 1/2 of the cost of my grocery store, by going to a local asian market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
I didn't find it too appetizing. Sure, it was easy to make though. A little on the sweet side, I'd say. I had cooked broccoli and didn't know what to do with it, so I searched for a sesame dressing to eat it with. However, after making this dressing and trying it, I realised that I'd much rather have my brocolli in a vinaigrette - 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 to 1.5 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 to 1.5 tsp soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Awesome! I have made this multiple times and it is always a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
I have made this recipe several times and it is always a hit. I use less margarine to brown the noodles and then I drain them on a few paper towels. That process absorbs quite a bit of the fat and also makes for crispier noodles. I've also used plain white vinegar if that's all I have and the dressing still taste great. Like some other reviewers, I keep the dressing, noodle mix and cabbage separate until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This is a staple at all family gatherings, only we use coleslaw mix in place of the carrots & cabbage, and cashews or sunflower nuts in place of the sesame seeds. We actually like it better the next day even though the noodles get soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This is our favorite recipe!!! It is SO good and tasty. We also add sliced almonds and little chunks of chicken!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lacey, Washington, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
it tastes even better the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Thorpe
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I have tasted so many variations of this popular salad. I had very high hopes for this one, but I was unable to get the sesame oil (the kicker ingredient!) I threw in a little bottled sesame salad dressing and it turned out okay. Not fabulous. I will try again with the sesame oil and hope it turns out better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I really enjoyed this today for lunch. I omitted the sugar and added a few splashes of soy sauce. Cabbage is now considered one of the top ten healthiest foods, so I was very pleased that I could incorporate this into my diet so deliciously. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States