Chinese Cabbage Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Toast the crushed noodles with the sesame seeds and they stay crunchy a bit longer. I make a batch of this and then eat it for lunch with diced leftover chicken or port for a real meal. I don't mind that the noodles soften. It still tastes great 2 days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelteredrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Great recipe I back off too much sugar, the cabbage makes it pretty sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
I looked up this recipe after having something similar (exact same?) at a potluck. It is delicious. Now it is a weekly staple. Sometimes I add marinated tofu for extra heartiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Chinese Cabbage Salad Haiku: "What flavor ramen?? Wouldn't that affect the taste? Also, it's too sweet." Recipe doesn't indicate what flavor ramen to use so w/ my pantry choices of Oriental (tried and true packet of blue, college memories of Veg-all cans mixing w/ you) or Chicken (ahh, good ol' orange's always good, for cheap college late-night food), I went w/ Oriental, and that seasoning seemed to jive well w/ this recipe. Also made this even easier by using a bag of coleslaw mix, but OHNO, this was cloyingly sweet w/ 2 TB sugar and we had a tough time eating it, and even more disappointing to throw so many leftovers away. If I made this again, I would drop the sugar entirely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
My family loves this salad! We use the coleslaw mix with carrots, green onions and we double the amounts for the dressing, with the exception of the sugar (we generally use 3 tbls instead of 4 tbls). It seems perfect with double dressing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This was a perfect side dish to our pot stickers last night. I love the asian flavors (I used the shrimp flavored Ramen Noodles/spice packet). I did need to add a bit more rice vinegar and I used 1 tsp of sesame oil, to have enough dressing to coat the amount of cabbage that I had (I didn't really measure my cabbage though, just used 1/2 of a small head that I had in my frig to use up). I also added a few green onions cut on the diagonal, just for an added touch of color). Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I agree with MommyBennett. It's the rice Vinegar and the sesame oil that give it the authentic Chinese flavor. I just looked at my bottle of sesame oil and it is made in Tokyo, Japan. (Who knew?). I live alone and can nosh on this recipe for several days. I really don't mind when the ramen noodles get soft. They just soak up the flavors. The toasted sesame seeds make it special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Loved it!!!!!! I added a tablespoon or so of Laura Scudder crunch peanut butter and some cumin which gave it more depth. I'm making it tomorrow for work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Was even better the next day? Was skeptical about not cooking the cabbage, but it turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxy Gold

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have been making this salad for a couple of years. We love it. I toast the ramen noodles also. Sometimes I add toasted almonds to it when I toss it for extera crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilmasteca

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States