Chinese Cabbage Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Easy to make, very tasty. I enjoy the varied textures and flavors. My two cents: add shredded carrots if the broccoli coleslaw mix is stingy with them; increase red wine vinegar 1-2T and decrease oil to 1/3 C if you like a little more zing and a little less fat; try sunflower seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
Great salad, Alexandria! I have made it a number of times for ladies luncheons and church functions. To vary the flavor, I sometimes omit the red wine vinegar and use 1 1/2T rice vinegar and 1/2t sesame oil. This give the salad a more Oriental taste. Caution when using the sesame oil, a little goes a very long way. Very potent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
I think I will use less oil next time. It was a little too greasy for my taste. But the flavor was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
Ooohhh Man, this salad is awesome!! I could eat this salad alone as a meal. You'd never realize you were eating something so healthy either! The flavor and textures are fabulous! I know I will be making this one over and over! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2001
Excellent. I toasted the sesame seeds and almonds in the oven for a few minutes to give it an added crunchy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2002
I have made this many times and sometimes add cut-up breaded chicken patties to make this as good as the Oriental Chicken Salad served in popular restaurants. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
I LOVE serving this with sesame chicken on top--a great main dsh salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2000
Excellent recipe and very easy using precut cabbage. I also like to add a little soy sauce and serve it fairly soon so the noodles don't get soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
Great flavor for such a light dressing! It was a hit at with my co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I saved a similar salad from another site 10 years ago. I call it 'BROCCOLI SLAW, RAMEN' in my recipe file, and have tweaked it somewhat from the original. Differences: DRESSING: I use 'Oriental flavored' Ramen, use only about 1/4 cup oil (don't need more), use rice vinegar instead of red wine, and add a few shakes of cayenne pepper as well as the black pepper and salt. I don't bother heating dressing, either. SALAD: Break up Ramen noodles into small pieces, and saute in a couple of Tbsp. butter with the almonds (2-3 Tbsp.) and sesame seeds (2 Tbsp.) until slightly change color. Set aside. Combine broccoli slaw (my packages seem to come in 12 oz. pkgs, instead of 16 oz.) and dressing at least 15-20 minutes ahead of serving, stirring several times. Just before serving add the sauteed noodles, almonds and sesame seeds to top, don't stir them in completely or they lose their crispness. I love serving this salad with crab cakes, they add a little cachet to the menu, and I've never found anyone who didn't rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States