Chinese Cabbage Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very good! The package of broccoli slaw was only 12 oz. I adjusted accordingly except for the ramen. I omitted the salt (it was still a bit salty for me), used only 2 oz. of slivered almonds, and replaced the sesame seeds with sunflower seeds. Next time I will reduce the oil as well. 1/4 c. for the 12 oz. slaw mix or 1/3 cup for 16 oz. However, the title should be Chinese Broccoli Salad as there is very little cabbage in it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I used half of the oil, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Amazing salad - Like all I tweaked a little too. Used dry roasted peanuts and toasted along with the ramen noodles in a skillet with about 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil and sprayed with cooking spray. Also added about a teaspoon of rice vinegar, no onion (didn't have) and finally I added 1 tablespoon each soy sauce and sesame oil to the dressing (reduced veg oil) . Needs prettier name - Oriental Brocoli Salad perhaps. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Excellent dish, so easy and inexpensive. Skipped the slivered almonds, uses 1/4 cup of butter flavored grape seed oil instead of vegetable. A little sweet for me so next time probably only use 1 tbs. sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I make this a lot and I always toast the Ramen noodles along with the almonds and sesame seeds. It makes them crispier and it doesn't take any longer. I also add a little soy sauce to the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I saved a similar salad from another site 10 years ago. I call it 'BROCCOLI SLAW, RAMEN' in my recipe file, and have tweaked it somewhat from the original. Differences: DRESSING: I use 'Oriental flavored' Ramen, use only about 1/4 cup oil (don't need more), use rice vinegar instead of red wine, and add a few shakes of cayenne pepper as well as the black pepper and salt. I don't bother heating dressing, either. SALAD: Break up Ramen noodles into small pieces, and saute in a couple of Tbsp. butter with the almonds (2-3 Tbsp.) and sesame seeds (2 Tbsp.) until slightly change color. Set aside. Combine broccoli slaw (my packages seem to come in 12 oz. pkgs, instead of 16 oz.) and dressing at least 15-20 minutes ahead of serving, stirring several times. Just before serving add the sauteed noodles, almonds and sesame seeds to top, don't stir them in completely or they lose their crispness. I love serving this salad with crab cakes, they add a little cachet to the menu, and I've never found anyone who didn't rave about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Used Cole Slaw mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
Yum! I brought this to a cookout recently and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I made the recipe exactly as stated in the instructions. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this salad for 25 people (Graduation) I changed the red wine vinegar to Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar and used half canola/half vegetable oils...FABULOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KARPOWELL
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
I made this last night and it was a hit!! I didn't change a thing, but next time I will use less oil, it did seem a little on the oily side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States