Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
WOW!! This salad definitley deserves 5 stars. The dressing is out of this world. I did add 1 tablespoon of sesame oil and 1 tablespoon of sesame seeds to the dressing and decreased the amount of oil to 1/3 cup. I put the dressing in a glass jar and shook it well. I let it sit for about 10 minutes to let the flavors develop. I used sliced almonds instead of cashews and toasted the ramen noodles in a skillet before sprinkling them on top. I bet rotisserie chicken tossed in would be a great addition too. Do not add the dressing unitl right before your ready to serve, otherwise it will become soggy. I give this salad my highest recommendation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
I usually don't review the recipes, but this one is such a hit with my family--including my two young boys!--that I've got to respond. A few changes: I added a big handful of chopped cilantro, and some carrot slices. Substituted rice vinegar and added 1T. peanut butter to dressing. Also, as a diabetic, I cut the sugar down to 1T, and nobody seems to miss it. We're making this at least twice a week now! An entire meal with some grilled chicken tossed in. Many thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I recently served this at our neighborhood block party and it was a smash! I usually coat the nuts, ramen noodle pieces with melted butter before I toast them and the key to preventing these to burning is to keep turning them while they are in the oven. I add sesame seeds too. I also boil the dressing for one minute to make sure the sugar dissolves properly and emulsifies. Great salad-very versatile and everyone always likes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I really liked this salad but did make a few changes to it to cut down on some fat. I completely left out the ramen noodles and reduced the oil to 1/4 c, used 1/4 c of rice vinegar instead of cider, and substituted a packet of artificial sweetener in place of the sugar. I'll make this recipe often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
I use this recipe all the time! I make a few changes though. I use 1/4 cup oil, 1/4 cup white vinegar, 1 T. Sesame Seeds, 2 packets Splenda, 6 oz. slivered almonds, 2 packages of Chicken Ramen Noodles. All other ingredients are the same! Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Windsor Heights, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I used a little less sugar and when it came time to bake the ramen noodles and cashews, I sprayed some butter (in those new nifty butter spray bottles) on both the baking sheet and overall and then lightly seasoned them with the chicken seasoning mix that came with the ramen noodles. Very good...we love these kinds of salads! Easy, quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is delicious, instead of the prepackaged shredded coleslaw, use a head of chinese cabbage, slice thinly and follow the rest of the directions as instructed. Our new favorite salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This is wonderful!!! Everyone raved over it. I will make this again and again and again. I'm addicted! The only unfortunate thing is that it does not keep. Must add dressing, nuts & noodles JUST before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Tried this at a high school for chinese new year. It was good. We used chow mein noodles and walnuts, because thats what we had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2003
Yummers! I add the toasted noodle/nut mixture as served or it gets mushy if leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States