Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
This was absolutely wonderful! My daughter walked in and saw me preparing it and say "Yuk - what is that?" I said "Just taste it". She did and LOVED it. My husband thought it was wonderful as well. The only thing I will do different next time is decrease the oil. Other than that - NOTHING needs to be changed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Excellent recipe! I've had this before and lost my original recipe so I was happy to find this one. The only things I changed was I used splenda instead of sugar, I used a prepackaged broccoli slaw mix, decreased the oil a bit and added a grilled chicken on top for a nice lunch salad. I added almonds (as that is what I had) and the ramen noodles right before serving to retain crunch. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I've made this twice now. The first time I made it as is, which is why I'm giving it 4 stars. The cider vinegar was way too heavy for the slaw and there was too much sugar in the dressing. Tonight, I made it with rice vinegar, slivered almonds, and less sugar (about 1/4 - 1/3 of a cup instead of 1/2). With those modifications, I think a 5 star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
The best ever!!! I made as directed and my only addition was 2 tbs of mayo to the dressing, it made it a little creamier. Other than that, it's perfect. Thank you so much for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie's Best

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
Good and simple recipe-- and easy to change up w/ different ingredients as you have on hand. The dressing was a bit on the sweet side to me- so i'd probably cut down a little bit on the sugar next time. Also, adding fried won ton strips added to the crunch. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kukadog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This a wonderful change from a "traditional" coleslaw, which I don't like. I cut down the oil and sugar to 1/3 of a cup. I thought I had rice wine vinegar, but I had red wine vinegar which I used instead of cidar vinegar and it still turned out great. I added a tablespoon of sesame oil and toasted sesame seeds. I boiled the marinade for about a minute and let it rest and come to room temp before pouring it over the broccoli slaw mixture I got from the store. My husband was pleasantly surprised and is looking forward to "us" taking it to our next family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This was great! I omitted the nuts and added toasted sesame seeds and a few drops of sesame seed oil. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This was delicious. It reminded me a lot of broccoli salad. Next time I'll try olive oil in place of the veg. oil and either reduce the sugar or use splenda. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kahrnctr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Made this for a get together with neighbors. It was a HUGE hit! Everyone wanted the recipe. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
SO Good! Next I am going to add some broccoli pieces to the mix. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States