Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The dressing is wonderful, but I like it a little more acetic (vinegar). Unlike some reviewers, I think the slaw mixture should be allowed to marinate with the dressing for about an hour then adding the crunchy ingredients right before serving. The cabbage needs time to absorb some of the flavors. I pan toasted the noodles, cashews and added some sesame seeds, used some sesame oil in the dressing. The leftovers make a fantastic stir fry... just add an egg and some meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
added a little ginger, garlic, and peanut butter to the dressing. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Oh so nice :) I did make changes (shrugs - who doesn't nowadays lo), but followed the zen of the recipe. Used almonds instead of cashews, napa cabbage instead of coleslaw, and cut oil in half (we're a sour family here). Also used rice wine vinegar, a splash of sesame oil, and a few sprinkles of sesame seeds. Outstanding. Served with Sweet & sour meatballs and steamed rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is sooo good! I followed the recipe exactly, but without cashews because I didn't have any. Very simple, easy and quick to put together. I will have this several times a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Photo by msjenipher1
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Great recipe! Didn't have cashews or cider vinegar and it was still great. Substituted olive oil since I'm doing Weight Watchers and put the noodles on top to save fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
We love it!.. My additions are 1/2 tsp. sesame oil in the dressing and also some sesame seeds on the salad looks pretty! For a main dish I add cooked/breaded/chopped chicken (Tyson), mandarin oranges and a little chopped Italian parsley when I have it. So yummy! Be sure you whisk enough so it will emulsify before pouring on.; my preference is to pour over about 15 min before because the ramen can be pretty crunchy.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I made this for a sidedish and found the recipe was great. I didn't use shredded coleslaw mix as the recipe calls for, but instead finely chopped 1/2 head of a small cabbage and shredded carrots into it. Results were delicious, but I think the shredded slaw mix would have made the vegetable-to-dressing ratio better. Using the chopped cabbage method, and soaking most of the cabbage, I still had 1/2 of the dressing leftover. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is one of the better cabbage dishes I've had - the nuts add good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I love this original recipe when I tried it but have altered it over time to address my desire to eat less processed stuff and more whole foods. So I switched out the oil for a pureed avocado and the white sugar with an equal amount of honey. I also always use either almonds or walnuts. I occassionally add other shredded veggies like beets, parsnips or carrots, and occassionally a finely diced firm apple. Braggs liquid aminos are an easy substitue for soy sauce but I tend to stick with the original. Have served it at family gatherings with all different variations and it has always been a crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I had high hopes for this with all the great reviews and we followed the recipe exactly as is, so I was really disappointed with the final result. The cider vinegar was overpowering, the dressing very oily.. We'll be looking for another recipe for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States