Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is very good. I followed one reviewer's suggestion to pan toast the cashews and noodles after spraying with some Pam and sprinkling on the seasoning packet. This is very good advice. I also substituted rice vinegar for the cider. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I have to agree with others that there is too much oil. It leaves an oily feeling on the lips which is not pleasant. As we tend to like sour, next time I will add a bit more vinegar as well as cutting the oil. Adding in a sprinkling of sesame seeds would probably be a nice addition as well. I think I would suggest adding the dressing to the cole slaw about 1/2 hour before serving to allow it to take in some of the flavors and adding the crunchy elements right before serving. I think with those tweaks this will be a repeat recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was great. Had reservations about making this but wow was this good. We have had this once a week for the last three weeks. Thought to add a comment since I'm making it now. We enjoy ginger so I grate some fresh ginger reduce oil by half and add some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Too much sugar and oil. Next time I'd use Mirin and cut sugar in half and oil in half and replace with 2-4 Tbsp. greek yogurt, lite mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious!!! I used a sugar substitute & cut down on the oil to 1/4th cup. I used safflower oil & a Planter's Appalachian mix of nuts, seeds, etc... I mixed the ramen noodle seasoning in with the dressing. Delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Delicious! and simpler than another similar slaw recipe I have. The only thing I did differently is use sesame seeds since I had no cashews and toasted them and the ramen noodles in a frying pan on the stove instead of the oven. Thought I could control the toasting this way. I also added a T of sesame oil since I love the flavor it imparts in dishes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Used less sugar (2T) and also added grilled chicken. It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Soooo gooood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Delicious! I love the crunchiness of the ramen noodles and the nuts. It is sweet and maybe not very healthy but it can be tweaked if that's a concern.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Delicious! I have made this recipe many times now. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Great recipe but do not make it the night before. It is much better if the dressing is put on right before serving! Also, splenda can be a great substitute for the sugar. And a little sesame oil is good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendasteelers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States