Chinese Cabbage Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
Great recipe although I did make some of the adjustments suggested by other reviewers. I decreased the oil to 1/3 cup and decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup. I also added a tablespoon of sesame oil. All of my friends devoured this salad and absolutely raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Easiest one yet. Instead of heating the oven, I toasted the noodles and cashews in butter. My kids who hate cabbage smelled it, tried it, didn't care that it was cabbage, and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cook4kids

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I have made this recipe a few times, and always receive great reviews. I shred cabbage from the garden. I usually toast the ramen noodles and the cashews in the oven. I also reduce the oil and sugar, but that is a persocnal preference. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOBUCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
GREAT REFRESHING SALAD. MY HUSBAND EVEN LOVED IT AND HE DOES NOT EAT SALADS. BUT I DID SUBSTITUTE THE OIL AND VINEGAR WITH PEANUT AND SESAME OIL AND RICE VINEGAR. ALSO ADDED SESAME SEEDS AND CILANTRO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Don't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Michigan, USA
Living In: Warren, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I loved this recipe as is. But the next time I made it I mixed it up a little bit. Used rice vinegar instead of cider vinegar, sweet onion instead of green onions, added 1-2 tsp. of sesame oil, and a few dashes of dried cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I followed this exactly and thought it was good, but lacked flavor. I added an extra tbsp of soy sauce, cilantro and salt and pepper. It was a great recipe and easy to make! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This is very good. I followed one reviewer's suggestion to pan toast the cashews and noodles after spraying with some Pam and sprinkling on the seasoning packet. This is very good advice. I also substituted rice vinegar for the cider. Otherwise I followed the recipe. I have to agree with others that there is too much oil. It leaves an oily feeling on the lips which is not pleasant. As we tend to like sour, next time I will add a bit more vinegar as well as cutting the oil. Adding in a sprinkling of sesame seeds would probably be a nice addition as well. I think I would suggest adding the dressing to the cole slaw about 1/2 hour before serving to allow it to take in some of the flavors and adding the crunchy elements right before serving. I think with those tweaks this will be a repeat recipe for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This was great. Had reservations about making this but wow was this good. We have had this once a week for the last three weeks. Thought to add a comment since I'm making it now. We enjoy ginger so I grate some fresh ginger reduce oil by half and add some minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Palmdale, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Too much sugar and oil. Next time I'd use Mirin and cut sugar in half and oil in half and replace with 2-4 Tbsp. greek yogurt, lite mayonnaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Yuba Noodle Salad

See how to make a yuba noodle and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States