'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Tried this recipe tonight and loved it. The changes I will make next time are cooking the beans (covered) on low for 10-15 minutes (maybe even longer, as I like them fairly limp) and adding the oyster/soy sauce at the end of the cooking process, as the sauce ending up overcooking and most of it was left on the sides of the pan. The sauce needs to be added last and beans stirred and cooked to saturate then removed and ready to serve. I also will eliminate the sugar, as really not needed. I give it a 5 stars, as it was very good even with the initial problems with the sauce. I know to make the change next time! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I accidentally used 2 tablespoons soy sauce but it was still amazing!!!! Will make again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shellyisme777

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mill City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
very easy to make, truly tasted like buffet ones. I used chopped garlic and it worked nice. Also I used peanut oil because that is what I had on hand. The kids were thrilled for green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiger Didi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I love this recipe, fast and really tasty. I made some alterations: used 4 gloves of garlic, 1 teasp of sugar, 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and 1 tablespoon of oyster sauce. First I steamed the fresh beans for 7 minutes and then used only half the sesame oil to saute the garlic. Added the beans, let them cook for 5 minutes then added the sauce and it was done in another 5 minutes. Also having the sauce mixed up and sitting is a good way to prevent ingredients from burning or clumping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Very good. I did steam the beans before stir frying them. Served this with Sesame Noodles and Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers. Delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I am in love with the Buffet type green beans and have tried on my own to duplicate them with no luck - until now - with this recipe! The family loved this one and it'll be a keeper in my household!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Nice change of pace that paired nicely with Hoisin-Ginger Beef Skewers on this site. I used sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Really Easy. Family really liked. Did have to be really careful with the garlic so that it didn't burn -- I added about 2 tablespoons water to the beans after about 2 minutes of stirfrying to speed up cooking without burning the garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
I think the beans need to be blanched for a few minutes to get the proper doneness without burning the garlic. I also doubled the garlic and added a little chili paste to the sauce. You should mix the sugar, oyster sauce and soy sauce before adding or the sugar could burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA
Living In: Douglas, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States