'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are the ultimate green beans. An exact replica of the ones from the Chinese buffet I go to. I think the sauce could even be used for other things. I lve them. Thank u for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
They taste like a lighter version of a Chinese resturant's green beans. They were very good, although the flavor didn't stand out too much. Something was missing, maybe ginger or something more profound. It was not spicy at all, which was a good thing. The meal should add the flavor, these should harmonize well with it. They were definitely classic Chinese cuisine, and stands out even among other delicious food. Be careful what you eat these with. To note how good they were, I found myself continuing to eat them even when I was full. I used pre-frozen cheap store green beans and the ingredients really made them taste great. That's quite a feat! Using a proper Wok and spreading them around allows for it all to cook evenly. It was very quick to prepare and cook, but I used a lot of the necessary Sesamie Oil and Oyster Sauce to make the meal, which are both becoming expensive. In the future I fully intend to cook these beans again, provided I can find something great to use them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really good! I made them exactly as the recipe called for and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were okay. I was a little hesitant about making the green beans and flavoring them with 2 Tblsp of oyster sauce. It is very strong and I thought it was the dominant flavor in these. The cook time was accurate except it didn't say how long to cook after adding the flavorings. I had to add about 10 minutes. Even if one likes the flavor of oyster sauce, it does create a dark glaze on them. So, don't expect perfect looking beans. They are slightly familiar to Asian buffet green beans, but something seems to be missing. Despite, not being exactly what I wanted, I was greatful for the low calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Wow - I love any recipe that makes my entire family happy, and this one fit the bill! We tend to like our green beans a little softer than the ones you get in Chinese restaurants, so I boiled them for a bit before sautéing them. I also omitted the soy sauce since some reviewers complained about the saltiness. They beans turned out perfectly for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is an excellent recipe. A very different flavor with the oyster sauce, but delicious. I also toss honey roasted peanuts on top of this which sweetens it up. My fiance adores these beans. He says they're like candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RazzyHoHo
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I made these for my husband and they tasted just like the green beans at the Chinese buffet. I am now going to make them for Thanksgiving. No more green bean casserole for me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aeyla64

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmdale, California, USA
Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
I left off the sugar, used Asian ingredients as the poster mentioned. I also stir-fried some slivered almonds in the peanut oil first, and added several drops of sesame oil. Next time I might fine-dice some onion as well. Thanks so much, this was just perfect with my honey-garlic wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I love these green beans! Very easy to prepare, and soooo tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is the way I have been cooking green beans in this style for a long time. The only thing different is that I put a little leftover small diced pork, I've sauteed till brown, with the sauce. YUM! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States