'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Very tasty, I would just flash steam the green beans before sauteing them as they were too raw/crunchy for my taste. It wouldn't hurt to double the sauce either because it was that delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Easy and very tasty. Might be good with water chestnuts, too. I didn't measure, but I think I put less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Per hubby: "These are the best green beans I've ever had." And he is not one for dramatic reviews. The first time I made these, I followed the directions exactly. I found that even on low heat the garlic slices burned before I was done cooking the beans. The second time I made it, I didn't pre-cook the garlic at all, just threw the beans and garlic in together and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Just like Chinese buffet. Better really because sometimes the green beans have be sitting to long. Love them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Wickham
Home Town: Huguenot, New York, USA
Living In: Warm Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Absolutely loved this recipe, highly recommended!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
These were great! I reduced he recipe and just eyeballed the ingredients. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
The flavor of these beans is excellent but I think next time I will parboil the beans first Mine didn't cook evenly for some reason. I will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
These are perfect! I had to give up Chinese take out since I had a terrible headache last time and suspect msg/high salt content. These are perfect and I used canola oil instead of peanut and I blanched the beans before as another reviewer recommended. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHASHLEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was really tasty! I used low sodium soy sauce. I gave it 4 stars because I think the cooking method didn't do the beans any favors. It made the beans dark, and they were just a little too crunchy. I think next time I'll mostly cook the beans first, sauté the the garlic, then add the cooked beans and the sauce to the pan just before I take it out if the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I have been trying to figure out how to duplicate the beans on our local Chinese buffets and this is it! I used hericot vert from Costco, which I blanched for a few minutes before starting this recipe. I didn't measure anything as I was just making enough for myself. I added some red pepper flakes and used sesame oil for the saute. Excellent! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States