'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Not exactly like the Chinese Buffet's but I think it could be with some tweaking. I've made these once & agree with other reviewers in saying that 2 tbsp's of Oyster sauce is too much. I would recommend using half of what it calls for, adding more garlic & less sugar. Could barely taste the garlic with just 2 cloves. I also, as other reviewers have, to add garlic after green beans have cooked a little as the garlic will scorch if you put it in the pan first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
It was edible but not good. It was WAY too sweet and left me feeling disgusting after. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone. I will NOT be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
Wonderful recipe! I used Splenda instead of regular sugar and next time I'll cut back a little on it since sugar replacements seem to be a bit sweeter, but that was definitely my fault. We'll have this again soon - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hebron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent taste. Defietely will make again. My husband says these are the best. Never wants me to try other green bean recipes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This one is the real deal, folks! The only things I did differently is used chopped garlic rather than slices. I added the chopped garlic midway into the cooking time so it wouldn't brown too much. Because I didn't have oyster sauce, I used fish sauce and it works just as well. This is wonderful and I fully intend to continue making these beans. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
more garlic and use brown sugar. Add some hot pepper sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Anne Kieffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
These are the ultimate green beans. An exact replica of the ones from the Chinese buffet I go to. I think the sauce could even be used for other things. I lve them. Thank u for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
They taste like a lighter version of a Chinese resturant's green beans. They were very good, although the flavor didn't stand out too much. Something was missing, maybe ginger or something more profound. It was not spicy at all, which was a good thing. The meal should add the flavor, these should harmonize well with it. They were definitely classic Chinese cuisine, and stands out even among other delicious food. Be careful what you eat these with. To note how good they were, I found myself continuing to eat them even when I was full. I used pre-frozen cheap store green beans and the ingredients really made them taste great. That's quite a feat! Using a proper Wok and spreading them around allows for it all to cook evenly. It was very quick to prepare and cook, but I used a lot of the necessary Sesamie Oil and Oyster Sauce to make the meal, which are both becoming expensive. In the future I fully intend to cook these beans again, provided I can find something great to use them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vincent J. Marotta III

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really good! I made them exactly as the recipe called for and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
These were okay. I was a little hesitant about making the green beans and flavoring them with 2 Tblsp of oyster sauce. It is very strong and I thought it was the dominant flavor in these. The cook time was accurate except it didn't say how long to cook after adding the flavorings. I had to add about 10 minutes. Even if one likes the flavor of oyster sauce, it does create a dark glaze on them. So, don't expect perfect looking beans. They are slightly familiar to Asian buffet green beans, but something seems to be missing. Despite, not being exactly what I wanted, I was greatful for the low calorie count.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States