'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
These were great!! I added some sesame seeds and omitted the sugar. This was a fantastic side dish for our homemade chinese food night :) Everyone loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
While these weren't the prettiest green beans I've ever made, they sure were one of the tastiest! Such great flavor! I didn't add the sugar and don't regret it. I added fresh minced garlic and am glad I did. The oyster and soy sauces give these a dark brown coating which doesn't make them the most attractive (plus I overcooked mine) but I'll call these green beans one good "ugly duckling!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: May 14, 2009
We liked this. I par boiled my beans first, [I just like them alittle more done.] Followed the recipe otherwise. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
Excellent! Can't wait to try this sauce on Chinese broccoli and other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Excellent recipe! It is now one of our very favorite vegetable recipes! I left out the white sugar, and I used garlic powder (was out of fresh garlic). I was so anxious to try this recipe, and the first time all I had was frozen green beans, and it was still excellent. After that, I have used fresh, but I think it was just as good with the frozen. Thanks so much for this very tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ijamsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
oh these were so delicious! the only problem i had was that my oyster sauce was cold from having already been opened and stored in the fridge, and when it hit the wok it sort of congealed into some lumps instead of mixing well and creating a sauce, but that was my fault not the recipe's. also, i used regular vegetable oil because that was all i had and i didn't notice any missing flavor not having peanut oil. these tasted just like chinese buffet green beans! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECCAP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warminster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pipersville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
Such a quick and simple recipe! I made it tonight and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
**IMPORTANT NOTE** Thanks to everyone who has tried this recipe! After reading all of the comments I think it is important to note that there can be a BIG difference between the "asian" store and "american" store version of your ingredients. I know that most american versions of soy sauce have a lot more salt, so I am assuming the american version of oyster sauce is also a bit different. We only use the asian store version for all of our ingredients, which is pretty close, if not sometimes the same brand, that they use in the restaurants. So if it didn't turn out for you the first time, try making a stop into your local asian grocer and try again :) ** And for some reason allrecipes changed my cooking instructions, but you do want to turn down down the heat a little once you add in the sauces to prevent burning and my beans actually take closer to 10 mins to cook to my desired tenderness. **
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
418 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roweena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
AWSOME makes my kids eat them thats all that matters
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
My daughter who is 2 only eats these at Chinese Restaurants, so I was excited to find this recipe. I did not have Oyster sauce, so I used a lil Hoisin and Fish. They taste great!!! I am tasting the garlic alot now. I grated mine on a micro planer, I should have just sliced like called for!! But yea VERY YUMMY! Very kind to share this recipe, now instead of canning all our green beans next summer I will freeze some for this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States