'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I loved this recipe!! I didn't have the oyster sauce and I was so desperate to try that I went without, but next time I will definetly try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
This is good - I left out the sugar and I did not miss it. If I decide to add sugar the next time I make this, it definately will not be the amount called for in the recipes - this would make my vegetables too sweet for me. I added onions and mushrooms to the green beans as well. I did not have peasnut or sesame oil, so I sauteed using Pam Olive Oil spray and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I loved this recipe however, I tweaked it a bit to meet my family's needs. I did not use the oyster sauce and I did not add the garlic until the green beans were fried and tender. Adding the garlic too early, causes it to burn. It was a hit at Thanksgiving and Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Turned out great--my relatives love this! If you're going to use a sugar substitute (I was cooking for diabetics), remember to decrease the amount of Splenda/Equal to avoid the funny aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I had to cut back on the oyster sauce, soy sauce, and sesame oil for the called-for 1 lb. fresh green beans. I gently suggest using the ingredients listed for 2 to 2 1/2 lbs. fresh green beans. One tablespoon of sesame oil was WAY too much for my one lb. of beans. Also, was very salty with both the soy and oyster sauces in amts. listed. I tried the recipe again with 1/2 tsp. Splenda for baking, 1 Tbl.spoon oyster sauce, 1/4 tsp. sesame oil and no soy sauce for 1 lb. green beans; left the garlic as listed in recipe, and this turned out really well. My husband says to use 2 lbs. beans and leave the recipe as is, except maybe decrease the sesame oil, which is really strong. Will keep using this recipe, Thanks, Roweena.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
always delicious and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burtonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These are SOOO good! Just like the ones I get at my favorite restaurant here in town. I did use frozen beans and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Quick, easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great taste but they took much longer to cook to my desired preference and the sauce then got kind of gooey. I kept having to add more water. In the end it was worth all the work, but I'll need to find a better method to making them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
These were really good. I have made them 2x now, and the second time I added a bunch of sliced, fresh mushrooms. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States