'Chinese Buffet' Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I was so excited to find this recipe, since it is one of my favorites on the buffet as well! I made this recipe with fresh haricot vert (french green beans) and half the sugar and it was devine!!! Thank you for bringing this wonderful, low calorie comfort food to my kitchen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are the best. So easy to make and they taste great. Only a few ingredients. Simple. I won't change anything. My children love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My husband and I really enjoyed these. I took the advice of another reviewer and blanched the veggies first (I used some sliced green pepper in addition to some green beans since I did not have that many green beans.). I also left out the oyster sauce (don't like). Thanks for a yummy side dish! I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I gave 2 stars only because this was KIND OF close to buffet beans.......The flavor just wasn't there. Our local buffet actually flash FRIES the beans first...then "dresses" them with a sauce......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
My 3 year old twins hate veggies, but, they loved this! I blanched the green beans for about 4 minutes first. I added 2 cloves sliced garlic, added 1.5 teaspoons of minced ginger, used 2 Tbs soy sauce and 1 teaspoon of the oyster sauce. I left out the sugar, it really didn't need it. Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Perfection! This is exactly what I was looking for; these beans tasted just like the ones at the restraunts. WONDERFUL! THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I used CANNED because thats what I had. Used garlic powder instead of fresh. Reduced the sauces to one TBSP each and omitted the oil (strain the liquid from the beans before cooking) I pan fried to heat thoroughly and diminish some of the liquid. It was very good, and i can't wait to try with fresh beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This looked great and tasted great. I should have taste tested one before serving because I needed to cook them a little longer. Will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Simply amazing. Just like at the restaurant. I mince my garlic instead of slice it. Personal preference. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
good, need to add a bit more sugar make sure to cook beans first BEFORE adding sauces. also keep a good watch on garlic, burns easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, Illinois, USA
Living In: East Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Greek Green Beans

Green beans simmer with tomatoes and onions until tender and yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States