Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe, but let me clue you guys in to a few alterations you can make: 1- There's no need to put 1/4 cup of butter. Just steam your broccoli. 2- You can crush the ramen and use it as a crunchy garnish instead of making it mushy by cooking it. Ramen noodles are fried, thus already cooked. Or alternately you can use those chow mein noodles that come in a can. 3- You can use red wine vinegar for better taste. 4- Yes, you are supposed to put in the seasoning packet, or if you use chow mein noodles you can use a little soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper... since that's basically all that's in oriental flavored ramen seasoning packets. 5- You can add a little seasame oil. 6- You can add toasted slivered almonds. 7- If you want to bring this to a pot luck or something, make it with grilled chicken breast and a head of cabbage instead of broccoli. The cabbage and chicken really absorb the flavor of the dressing, and it's DOUBLE fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
okay I always have to tweek a recipe a bit b/c that's just how I am.. She said to reserve the seasoning pkt. but nowhere did it say to add it in??? I didn't want it to go to waste, so in the dressing (which was VERY bland) how could it not be with only acv/sugar/oil/soy being its only ingredients?? I added the packet. WOW! It totally kicked this recipe up a notch. Also added one more tbsp of soy and s&p. Other than that, this is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I must say this was delicious with a few changes:1) Instead of baking noodles, almonds and seeds, spray a frying pan with cooking spray and add noodles for 3 minutes, then almond slices or slivers for 2 minutes and then sesame seeds for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently-to-constantly; remove from heat and allow to cool while you mix the slaw. 2)The dressing for the slaw is truly wonderful if you use a combination of toasted sesame oil and olive oil (more olive than sesame) with rice vinegar in place of the apple cider vinegar. You will be pleasantly surprised that the addition of the green onions and flavor packet is not necessary. 3)Top each serving with the cooled noodle mix. I serve this with a crock-pot recipe for asian country style porkribs. SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is our family's favorite slaw recipe. I use whatever almonds I have on hand (pictured with sliced) and exchange brown sugar for white, as I feel it gives a better flavor. Be sure to use bagged broccoli slaw (found in the produce section near the bagged shredded cole slaw) and not broccoli florets. This is what makes the recipe! We will make this again and again, it's always a favorite and is delicious served with barbecue. Make it ahead of time so the flavors have a chance to blend. It's also great as a leftover the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I loved this recipe but had to make a few tweaks. I used olive oil rather than salad oil, balsamic vinegar rather than apple cider vinegar, and eliminated the seasoning packets. I also added one more tablespoon of soy sauce. I loved the outcome! Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Fantastic easy recipe that my family asks for often. Wonderful for pot lucks, picnics, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rosemount, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Enjoyable salad. I made 1/2 of the dressing and it was still a lot of dressing. I did not use the butter but 1 tbsp. of sesame oil instead of butter & put it in a large fry pan on medium heat for 5 minutes. Also used olive oil in the dressing instead of veg. oil. It made it a bit more healthy. I used the seasoning packet in the beef ramen noodles and low-sodium soy sauce in the dressing. I only used one packet of noodles as there was plenty and I wanted to taste the vegetables and keep the calories down. I make a similar salad with regular coleslaw but I really enjoyed the broccoli slaw for a change and will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe! Be sure to stir before you serve it if it has been in the fridge. I noticed my dressing kind of sunk to the bottom. I also added a grated carrot into the salad for color...pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this for supper club a few months ago. Everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Delicious! I followed the suggestions of others and toasted the dry ingredients in a frying pan that I'd sprayed with cooking spray. I also substituted 2 tablespoons of sesame oil for some of the vegetable oil, which gave it great flavor. I didn't have oriental-flavored ramen, so I used chicken-flavored ramen and only used one seasoning packet. I used sesame seeds, but I think it would also be good with sunflower seeds. The great thing about this salad is that you can make the dressing and dry ingredients ahead of time and then just open a bag of broccoli slaw and toss it together quickly right before you eat. The ramen noodle/almond/sesame mix makes a lot, easily enough that you could double the amount of broccoli slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States