Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I made this last night with just a few simple changes and it turned out well. First, along with the sesame seeds and almonds I threw in some pine nuts (because we looove them:) I also used olive oil in place of salad oil with no noticeable difference. Unfortunately I tried to cut the sugar in half to make it a bit healthier, but the resulting dressing was just not good - even though I added the two ramen seasoning packets. I think next time I will add the whole amount (maybe try Splenda, though.) Also, with rotisserie chicken added this could be a full and delicious meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
a great way to use up broccoli stems. for the slaw mix i peeled and cut off the rough ends of my broccoli. then i shredded them along w/ a carrot and some cabbage for the slaw mix. i only had sunflower seeds so i dry toasted them in a skillet and combined those w/ the slaw mix and raw crushed ramen. i mixed up the dressing ings and dressed the salad rigt before serving. the hubs didnt even know he was eating broccoli. i served this w/ the Best Sweet and Sour Meatballs from this site over rice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Yummy! All my kids liked this - and that's saying something!! Not sure what the last person is talking about. It does say to add the seasoning packets in the instructions. Very easy to assemble, esp. because you buy the "broccoli slaw" mix at the store by the bagged salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the sesame seeds or almonds, but not necessary, it still turned out great! I used a bag of Vegetable stir fry, so it had broccoli, carrots, and snow peas. I added a packed of vegetable seasoning but I'm not sure it was necessary. I think the Apple cider vinegar gives a good strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I liked this recipe, easy,get your veggies too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy
Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This salad is super fast to throw together and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I add a small can of mandarin oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This was DELICIOUS! I tried to make it a little healthier by using only a TBSP of butter and then spraying canola cooking oil on the ramen noodles before baking. I also reduced the sugar by half in the seasoning. I didn't have broccoli slaw, just two big heads of broccoli to use, so I cut them into bite size florets, shredded up half a bag of baby carrots and used that instead. What a wonderful way to get your raw veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bel920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Enjoyable salad. I made 1/2 of the dressing and it was still a lot of dressing. I did not use the butter but 1 tbsp. of sesame oil instead of butter & put it in a large fry pan on medium heat for 5 minutes. Also used olive oil in the dressing instead of veg. oil. It made it a bit more healthy. I used the seasoning packet in the beef ramen noodles and low-sodium soy sauce in the dressing. I only used one packet of noodles as there was plenty and I wanted to taste the vegetables and keep the calories down. I make a similar salad with regular coleslaw but I really enjoyed the broccoli slaw for a change and will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States