Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was EXCELLENT! I didn't have almonds or sesame seeds, but did have sunflower seeds - which worked just fine with the ramen noodles. The crunch was wonderful - but do make sure you buy the 16 oz package of broccoli slaw - I only bought a 12 oz package by mistake and it was too much crunchy and not enough veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Centerville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hampton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I have been making this years, but have never added the butter or green onions- I really don't think it needs it. Also, I have used sunflower seeds instead of sesame seeds. Sometimes I use half sugar/half splenda just to cut out some of the sugar, and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is one of the best salads ever!!! The only negative is it is high in calories. I may tweak it next time to lower the calories a bit, but other than that it couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Yum, yum! My husband who hates broccoli loves this! It's great for cookouts. I do omit all the butter. It's not needed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Made this for supper club a few months ago. Everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daphne, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was so delish! Could make a meal out of it alone! I did use balsamic vinegar instead of the oil and added the seasoning packet, sugar and soy sauce. The only thing I cooked was the sesame seeds. To be honest I was concerned about the soy sauce (not a big fan - too salty). So used reduced sodium. It had a GREAT flavor and very crunchy. I'm going to use it again and again especially at my annual Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Loved it. I used some grated kohlrabi with the broccoli. I also did equal amounts of sugar, vinegar and oil. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Stam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This is a great slaw/salad! I have made it for parties and potlucks and everyone always wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Delicious! I followed the suggestions of others and toasted the dry ingredients in a frying pan that I'd sprayed with cooking spray. I also substituted 2 tablespoons of sesame oil for some of the vegetable oil, which gave it great flavor. I didn't have oriental-flavored ramen, so I used chicken-flavored ramen and only used one seasoning packet. I used sesame seeds, but I think it would also be good with sunflower seeds. The great thing about this salad is that you can make the dressing and dry ingredients ahead of time and then just open a bag of broccoli slaw and toss it together quickly right before you eat. The ramen noodle/almond/sesame mix makes a lot, easily enough that you could double the amount of broccoli slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
The soy sauce makes it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States