Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This is a good recipe, but let me clue you guys in to a few alterations you can make: 1- There's no need to put 1/4 cup of butter. Just steam your broccoli. 2- You can crush the ramen and use it as a crunchy garnish instead of making it mushy by cooking it. Ramen noodles are fried, thus already cooked. Or alternately you can use those chow mein noodles that come in a can. 3- You can use red wine vinegar for better taste. 4- Yes, you are supposed to put in the seasoning packet, or if you use chow mein noodles you can use a little soy sauce, garlic powder, onion powder, and black pepper... since that's basically all that's in oriental flavored ramen seasoning packets. 5- You can add a little seasame oil. 6- You can add toasted slivered almonds. 7- If you want to bring this to a pot luck or something, make it with grilled chicken breast and a head of cabbage instead of broccoli. The cabbage and chicken really absorb the flavor of the dressing, and it's DOUBLE fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZeroCreature

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I love this recipe!! The only change I made was that I just melted the butter in a pan and added the noodles and seeds. It's much faster than doing the whole oven baking. Just cook them in the butter until golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was a great recipe. I added a fair amount more broccoli, and it still had a LOT of sauce! Very good tasting, though... I will certainly make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mandjmorse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Very delicious! Easy to make. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HelgaF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Have had variations of this at lots of potluck events, and was very excited to find it here. Delicious! My daughter and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnindfw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This slaw is great and very easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I've been making this for several years & it's always requested at bbq's & get togethers. The recipe I have is the same except for the omission of butter & I've never felt it was missing anything at all. Love it to death!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
For a different twist on this recipe: Use a Napa cabbage chopped fine instead of the brocoli slaw. Add 1.5 red peppers and 1.5 green peppers all chopped fine along with 8 green onions chopped fine w/tops and a grated carrot. Brown your Ramen Noodles unseparated on each side in a skillet. Cool, then separate. Also brown in skillet 8 Tbsp slivered almonds and 2 Tbsp. sesame seeds. To reduce the calories and not change the taste at all, use 1/4 to 1/2 Cup Olive Oil, 1/8 C. Splenda mixed w/your Ramen flavor packets. This salad keeps well made ahead of time if you do not put in your marinade or toasted noodles until ready to serve. This is one of the best recipes in my repertoire! chunt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
This is a great recipe! Be sure to stir before you serve it if it has been in the fridge. I noticed my dressing kind of sunk to the bottom. I also added a grated carrot into the salad for color...pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States