Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Skip the butter and halve the oil (used olive not salad oil) and sugar. I'm sharing this recipe with a friend who doesn't like the mayo slaw recipes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is our family's favorite slaw recipe. I use whatever almonds I have on hand (pictured with sliced) and exchange brown sugar for white, as I feel it gives a better flavor. Be sure to use bagged broccoli slaw (found in the produce section near the bagged shredded cole slaw) and not broccoli florets. This is what makes the recipe! We will make this again and again, it's always a favorite and is delicious served with barbecue. Make it ahead of time so the flavors have a chance to blend. It's also great as a leftover the day after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was quick to make, tasty and filling....bonus! I did make a few changes: I poured 1 pkg of broccoli coleslaw mix in a large bowl and added and crushed 1 pkg of ramen noodle. I purchased the Olde Cape Cod's soy sesame ginger vignagrette (fat free) and used 1/2c of this in place of the almonds, sesame seeds and salad oil. I did add the 1/4c red wine vinegar as someone suggested in the reviews, 1/2c + of the green onion, 4 tblsp of sugar, and 2 tblsp of low sodium soy sauce and the seasoning packet from the ramen noodle. I also added some black pepper for an extra kick. I tossed these ingredients well and it turned out great. For my own needs, I added a tsp of EVOO in my individual bowl. I ate this with a few slices of turkey sausage and it was yummy. Thanks for the submitting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe is amazing! My mom made it and brought it to my birthday party luau and it was a huge hit! no leftovers what so ever! I made this again last night and served with some spicy Asian noodles, soo good! The only thing I do differently is leave out the butter to reduce calories. Instead, I just sprayed a little cooking spray on the ramen noodles before baking. Still very tasty and so easy to make! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I've had this cole slaw before, but didn't have the recipe. I used this exactly as stated, but used coleslaw mix without broccoli (what I had on hand) and increased the slivered almonds since I had a bit more than needed for the recipe. I did feel the salad dressing needed some more flavor, and next time will increase the soy sauce (low sodium) and use some garlic oil, too. All-in-all a good recipe, just needs some tweaking for this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I don't use any butter, soy sauce nor cook the noodles. I put the broken noodles in the bowl first, then add the package of slaw (no broccoli) and nuts and then top off with the dressing. Do not stir until almost ready to serve so the noodles are soft. This makes a lot of swesome slaw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Farrell

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arnold, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I have made this over and over. I get raves about it. My husband and I love it just for ourselves too. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe! I have had many versions of this salad, but this one is by far the best. Very easy to make and is always a hit at any party or pot-luck. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Laddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Candia, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I was looking for a slaw recipe for a cookout that didn't have mayo in it so it wouldn't go bad. This was fantastic!! To lighten this up, I dry toasted the almonds, used chinese crunchy chow mein noodles, no butter, and used less oil and sugar. Still came out fantastic! I will definitely make this again. I think I might try it with chicken and serve it as a quick weekday dinner. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
I want to share a summer version a friend gave me. Using the Brobboli slaw mix and green onion, add sunflower seeds and the raw crushed noodles. Instead of using the oriental flavor soup, use the beef flavor ramen instead. I haven't made it with soy sauce. This dish does well at picnics compared to salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States