Chinese Broccoli Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
my husband i and i really enjoy this dish. i did modify a little. i didnt bake the noodles, almonds and sesame seeds. i just sautee them in a pan. just cause im lazy. but this always turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nichole
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Great alternative to heavy mayo based dressings. I cook the noodles in olive oil for a healthier option and use sunflower seeds instead of sesamie. I also use 2 (12 oz) bags of slaw. I love vinegar too, so I use about 1/2 cup as it really mellows as it sits and I add both seasoning packets. Salad can be made in advance, but add noodles at last minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nichole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jackson, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I must say this was delicious with a few changes:1) Instead of baking noodles, almonds and seeds, spray a frying pan with cooking spray and add noodles for 3 minutes, then almond slices or slivers for 2 minutes and then sesame seeds for 2-3 minutes, stirring frequently-to-constantly; remove from heat and allow to cool while you mix the slaw. 2)The dressing for the slaw is truly wonderful if you use a combination of toasted sesame oil and olive oil (more olive than sesame) with rice vinegar in place of the apple cider vinegar. You will be pleasantly surprised that the addition of the green onions and flavor packet is not necessary. 3)Top each serving with the cooled noodle mix. I serve this with a crock-pot recipe for asian country style porkribs. SCRUMPTIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Really good. I used some chinese noodles from the salad section of the grocery store instead of Ramen. I also used mustard seeds which gave it some spice. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This recipe has really good flavor and my husband (who doesn't like sweet salads) even liked it. I changed the sesame seeds to sunflower seeds and used olive oil instead of salad oil. The reason I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is because I think that 2 packages of Ramen noodles is too much. You get too many noodles and not enough slaw. Next time I make this I will only use 1 package of noodles but still two seasoning packets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Disappointing. I kept adding more things to get a more interesting flavor, but no matter what I tried it just tasted like raw veggies in soy sauce. Lacking in complexity and authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was easy and different which I always like but too high in calories for a side salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Delicious! I used sunflower seeds as well. Great party side dish for picnic...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I've made a simular recipe to this for years, but this is way better. Toasting the noodles and nuts is the key to making this taste great! I used only one packet of seasoning, no sesame seeds (I didn't have any), used olive oil in place of the butter to make it healthier and it turned out very tasty. I can't wait to try this out on friends/family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Skip the butter and halve the oil (used olive not salad oil) and sugar. I'm sharing this recipe with a friend who doesn't like the mayo slaw recipes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Restaurant Style Beef and Broccoli

See how easy it is to make this classic Chinese takeout dish at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States