Chinese Barbequed Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I just made these ribs and everyone went wild! What a fantastic recipe. I didn't cook them on a broiler pan with the water. I put them single layer on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 degrees on convection roast. I changed the foil on the cookie sheet and then basted them with some fresh marinade I made. Put them back in on convection roast for another 5 minutes and basted them one more time. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. Finger licking good!! This recipe is a keeper. I also served it with the Vegetable Lo Mein recipe I got off of allrecipes.com. Great dinner!!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Excellent taste. First time I have made ribs and these came out excellent! I followed the recipe down to the letter including using the red food coloring. I like salty so when I make it next time I will put a little more soy sauce. Also I will puncture the ribs with a fork before marinating them to absorb more flavor. I will let them marinade at least 3 hours. This is important because as the ribs cook, the sauce drips down into the pan of water so it is wise to saturate the ribs and maybe basting every 15 minutes may not be a bad idea. But I dont want to be bothered, so I think the steps above will improve the recipe to give more flavor on the inside. These ribs where fall of the bone and succulent but I like mine a little crispier and burnt a little which is why I advise after the hour in the oven is done I would turn up the heat in the oven and let 'em roast an extra 5-10 minutes to make the outsides more crispy. Must also say that the leftovers taste even better than the fresh batch. The leftovers that sat overnight in the fridge had even more flavor the next afternoon when I microwaved them. I made them with the chinese chicken fried rice recipe from allrecipes.com and got many compliments. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
These ribs are awesome. I often eat in Chinese restaurants, so I've had plenty of the ribs prepared with this style. This recipe very closely approximates and in some cases betters the ribs I've had in these restaurants. I did make a mistake. I mixed two cups of water with the marinade. After realizing my mistake, I mixed another batch of sauce and finished the recipe as written. I imagine these will only get better when I prepare them next time since the marinade will be more concentrated. These ribs are highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I just finished licking the sauce off my fingers after polishing off a bunch of these. Fantastic! These were better than some of the takeout places around here! I can't think of anything to change in this recipe. I will be making this one often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paramus, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brogue, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
These ribs are incredible! I marinated the ribs overnight and boiled the leftover marinade before using it to baste. I only added 1 step: I turned one more time, basted again, and put them under the broiler for just a minute to crisp the meaty side a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I made this last night and I have to say I will NEVER ever buy takeaway again,these were the best spareribs I have ever tasted.Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chaz L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These ribs were EXCELLENT. Exactly, if not better than take out. Followed recipe ingredients, used a bit more since I had larger ribs. I also cut my ribs in half to make them more like appetizers. I took the advice of others. Marinated overnight in a zip-lock bag. Slow boiled the extra marinade (on low) before basting. I turned the ribs a few extra times than suggested and cooked a bit longer. Turned out delicious and just as good reheated the next day. I also prepared a batch and put them in the freezer with the marinade. Defrosted and baked another time, and they turned out perfect. What a time saver to have them on hand. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I don't know how they make them by you, but these were EXACTLY like the Chinese restaurants in Atlanta. They were sooo good! I used baby back ribs and followed the recipe exactly. I marinated them for about 2 hours and cooked them for an hour. I then boiled the marinade and brushed it on before serving. Everyone loved them, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made these for new years party and they were great. I didn't use the 5 spice powder cause my supermarket didn't carry it. Also I used red instead of white wine and regular cranberry suace instead of jelled. First they smelled just like the restaurant then they tasted the same. So good, everyone pigged out on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
These were delicious and did taste like Chinese style spareribs. I was only cooking one rack of baby back ribs (about 2 lbs.)but made the sauce for 4 lbs. of ribs. I did not change one thing in the recipe except for the cooking time. I cook ribs constantly in the oven and I know that mine would not have been done in 1 hour at 300 unless I had parboiled them first. I ended up cooking them for 2 hours and basting them every 30 minutes for the first hour and then every 15 minutes for the 2nd hour - which explains why I used up all the sauce. I broiled them for 3 minutes before I took them out which gave them that nice charred flavor and look that you get in the restaurant. This was easy and I will be making this again. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States