Chinese Barbequed Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2002
It was delicious! I left out the food coloring, but other than that, I followed the directions exactly. Will try it on company now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
I loved this recipe, easy and good. I would have given it 5 stars, but I cheated on the recipe alittle...I didn't have cranberry sauce, so I used duck sauce. It was just like the chinese ribs...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
I omitted the food coloring. The flavor was wonderful. I finished off the ribs by putting them under the broiler for about four minutes on each side. The only thing I'd do different next time is roast them longer so that the meat comes off the bone easier. This was a family pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I just made these ribs and everyone went wild! What a fantastic recipe. I didn't cook them on a broiler pan with the water. I put them single layer on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 degrees on convection roast. I changed the foil on the cookie sheet and then basted them with some fresh marinade I made. Put them back in on convection roast for another 5 minutes and basted them one more time. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. Finger licking good!! This recipe is a keeper. I also served it with the Vegetable Lo Mein recipe I got off of allrecipes.com. Great dinner!!!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
Excellent taste. First time I have made ribs and these came out excellent! I followed the recipe down to the letter including using the red food coloring. I like salty so when I make it next time I will put a little more soy sauce. Also I will puncture the ribs with a fork before marinating them to absorb more flavor. I will let them marinade at least 3 hours. This is important because as the ribs cook, the sauce drips down into the pan of water so it is wise to saturate the ribs and maybe basting every 15 minutes may not be a bad idea. But I dont want to be bothered, so I think the steps above will improve the recipe to give more flavor on the inside. These ribs where fall of the bone and succulent but I like mine a little crispier and burnt a little which is why I advise after the hour in the oven is done I would turn up the heat in the oven and let 'em roast an extra 5-10 minutes to make the outsides more crispy. Must also say that the leftovers taste even better than the fresh batch. The leftovers that sat overnight in the fridge had even more flavor the next afternoon when I microwaved them. I made them with the chinese chicken fried rice recipe from allrecipes.com and got many compliments. A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
These ribs are incredible! I marinated the ribs overnight and boiled the leftover marinade before using it to baste. I only added 1 step: I turned one more time, basted again, and put them under the broiler for just a minute to crisp the meaty side a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I made this last night and I have to say I will NEVER ever buy takeaway again,these were the best spareribs I have ever tasted.Thank you very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARLES LIPPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
These ribs were EXCELLENT. Exactly, if not better than take out. Followed recipe ingredients, used a bit more since I had larger ribs. I also cut my ribs in half to make them more like appetizers. I took the advice of others. Marinated overnight in a zip-lock bag. Slow boiled the extra marinade (on low) before basting. I turned the ribs a few extra times than suggested and cooked a bit longer. Turned out delicious and just as good reheated the next day. I also prepared a batch and put them in the freezer with the marinade. Defrosted and baked another time, and they turned out perfect. What a time saver to have them on hand. Thanks so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
These were quite good but not as good as I'd expected based on the previous reviews. I followed the directions to the letter only adding to the cooking time like several people suggested, oh and I also marinated the ribs all day too. I think next time, I will try this with boneless ribs or babyback ribs if I can get them on sale. But the taste is extremely close to restaurant Chinese spareribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by laralou
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
these were good. My ribs were "fatty" so they didnt turn out as good as the ones I get at the chinese restaurant. But the flavor was the same and they were very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States