Chinese Barbequed Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Chinese Barbequed Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN 3+ hrs

Chinese Barbequed Spareribs

Recipe by  

"This is the recipe that is served in all the Chinese restaurants in my area. Serve these as a main course or appetizer."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 6 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    1 hr 20 mins
  • COOK

    1 hr
  • READY IN

    3 hrs 20 mins

Directions

  1. In a large bowl, blend hoisin sauce, cranberry sauce, soy sauce, white wine, honey, and red food coloring. Mix in garlic salt and Chinese five-spice powder. Place ribs in the mixture. Cover, and marinate in the refrigerator at least 1 hour.
  2. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).
  3. Place water in the bottom of a large roasting pan. Arrange ribs on pan rack, and cook 30 minutes in the preheated oven. Cover with remaining sauce mixture, and continue cooking 30 minutes, to an internal temperature of 160 degrees F (70 degrees C).
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Oct 19, 2003

It was delicious! I left out the food coloring, but other than that, I followed the directions exactly. Will try it on company now.

 
Apr 06, 2005

Excellent taste. First time I have made ribs and these came out excellent! I followed the recipe down to the letter including using the red food coloring. I like salty so when I make it next time I will put a little more soy sauce. Also I will puncture the ribs with a fork before marinating them to absorb more flavor. I will let them marinade at least 3 hours. This is important because as the ribs cook, the sauce drips down into the pan of water so it is wise to saturate the ribs and maybe basting every 15 minutes may not be a bad idea. But I dont want to be bothered, so I think the steps above will improve the recipe to give more flavor on the inside. These ribs where fall of the bone and succulent but I like mine a little crispier and burnt a little which is why I advise after the hour in the oven is done I would turn up the heat in the oven and let 'em roast an extra 5-10 minutes to make the outsides more crispy. Must also say that the leftovers taste even better than the fresh batch. The leftovers that sat overnight in the fridge had even more flavor the next afternoon when I microwaved them. I made them with the chinese chicken fried rice recipe from allrecipes.com and got many compliments. A+++++

 

34 Ratings

May 02, 2004

I just made these ribs and everyone went wild! What a fantastic recipe. I didn't cook them on a broiler pan with the water. I put them single layer on a cookie sheet and baked them at 350 degrees on convection roast. I changed the foil on the cookie sheet and then basted them with some fresh marinade I made. Put them back in on convection roast for another 5 minutes and basted them one more time. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top. Finger licking good!! This recipe is a keeper. I also served it with the Vegetable Lo Mein recipe I got off of allrecipes.com. Great dinner!!!! Thanks!!!

 
Dec 09, 2008

These were delicious and did taste like Chinese style spareribs. I was only cooking one rack of baby back ribs (about 2 lbs.)but made the sauce for 4 lbs. of ribs. I did not change one thing in the recipe except for the cooking time. I cook ribs constantly in the oven and I know that mine would not have been done in 1 hour at 300 unless I had parboiled them first. I ended up cooking them for 2 hours and basting them every 30 minutes for the first hour and then every 15 minutes for the 2nd hour - which explains why I used up all the sauce. I broiled them for 3 minutes before I took them out which gave them that nice charred flavor and look that you get in the restaurant. This was easy and I will be making this again. Thanks submitter.

 
Mar 26, 2004

I omitted the food coloring. The flavor was wonderful. I finished off the ribs by putting them under the broiler for about four minutes on each side. The only thing I'd do different next time is roast them longer so that the meat comes off the bone easier. This was a family pleaser!

 
Jan 29, 2004

I loved this recipe, easy and good. I would have given it 5 stars, but I cheated on the recipe alittle...I didn't have cranberry sauce, so I used duck sauce. It was just like the chinese ribs...thanks

 
Mar 26, 2010

Just like Chinese restaurant ribs - broiled them for a couple minutes at the end. Perfect. Definitely a keeper.

 
Dec 24, 2008

When I found this recipe I knew right away that I had to try it. I went to the store to buy all of the ingredients I didn't have on hand and used substitues for whatever I couldn't find in the store. I used Bragg's Liquid Aminos instead of normal soy sauce, a half and half blend of regular salt and garlic powder instead of garlic salt, and because my local grocery didn't have any cooking wine I used some flat 7Up (<- sounds bad, I know, but it turned out fine). These ribs were absolutely delicious. I'm no longer a slave to my local restaurant's spareribs - now I can make my own! :-)

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 932 kcal
  • 47%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 20.5 g
  • 7%
  • Cholesterol
  • 243 mg
  • 81%
  • Fat
  • 71.5 g
  • 110%
  • Fiber
  • 0.8 g
  • 3%
  • Protein
  • 48 g
  • 96%
  • Sodium
  • 1009 mg
  • 40%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More

About the Cook

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States