China Moon Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe works best if it's put into pan without holes and allowed to poach in the juices. The fish absorbs all of the wonderful flavors and you can ladle the sauce over white rice. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADESTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
My husband loved this recipe! He has never liked salmon until he tried this one. I did not steam the salmon, but baked it instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was great. My husband and I both thought it tasted really good, was very simple and fast to make. We don't have a steamer (well, we do but it's packed up right now) so we put the salmon in a glass pie plate and put that on top of an inverted stainless steel bowl in a large shallow stock pot. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I used white salmon and tripled the amount of ginger. Turned out great. I would recommend Imagine Foods' Organic Free Range Chicken Broth for lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
So delicious I found myself snacking on it in the wee hours of the morning. Wonderful cold too! This is wonderful served with ramen or soba noodles also might be good with some other vegetables steamed along with salmon. MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
We loved this! I used a little more ginger and steamed it in my Handy Steamer that I had only used for veggies until this point, and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I liked this recipe. Subtle flavors were interesting. However, I may poach the fish in a pan with the ingredients next time, rather than stea I think more of these unique flavors will be in each bite....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Great recipe. Tastes very similar to my boyfriend's mother's salmon recipe & it also has the same ingredients! The only thing I recommend is reducing the amount of chicken broth and adding a little more red pepper flakes, otherwise everything is yummy. Also, instead of steaming mine, I broiled it -- makes the flavors combine in the fish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Was good, however i wish that tasty sauce didn't steam away. I liked it enough to try it again and like the other member poach it in the sauce. Don't steam it too long either, it was a little dry. My family did enjoy it though. Very healthy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I LOVE black bean and garlic sauce, and never thought to use it with salmon. I think I prefer it with my usual chicken/onion/green bell pepper combo, but it was still good. The only things I did differently were to use powdered ginger instead of fresh, and I cooked it all in a skillet on the stove top. I also sprinkled some sliced green onions on top which made it look pretty. If I were to make it again, I'd sprinkle on some toasted sesame seeds as well. Nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States