China Moon Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I LOVE black bean and garlic sauce, and never thought to use it with salmon. I think I prefer it with my usual chicken/onion/green bell pepper combo, but it was still good. The only things I did differently were to use powdered ginger instead of fresh, and I cooked it all in a skillet on the stove top. I also sprinkled some sliced green onions on top which made it look pretty. If I were to make it again, I'd sprinkle on some toasted sesame seeds as well. Nice recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This recipe works best if it's put into pan without holes and allowed to poach in the juices. The fish absorbs all of the wonderful flavors and you can ladle the sauce over white rice. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADESTAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Was good, however i wish that tasty sauce didn't steam away. I liked it enough to try it again and like the other member poach it in the sauce. Don't steam it too long either, it was a little dry. My family did enjoy it though. Very healthy too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
We loved this! I used a little more ginger and steamed it in my Handy Steamer that I had only used for veggies until this point, and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Great recipe. Tastes very similar to my boyfriend's mother's salmon recipe & it also has the same ingredients! The only thing I recommend is reducing the amount of chicken broth and adding a little more red pepper flakes, otherwise everything is yummy. Also, instead of steaming mine, I broiled it -- makes the flavors combine in the fish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
So delicious I found myself snacking on it in the wee hours of the morning. Wonderful cold too! This is wonderful served with ramen or soba noodles also might be good with some other vegetables steamed along with salmon. MMMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
It was kind of bland, even with all the strong tasting ingredient, and it didn't taste particularly Chinese. I think the amount of chicken broth should be reduced. It dilutes the taste, plus you accumulate quite an amount of water when steaming already. Maybe I will give it a try another day, with a much concentrated sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
I used white salmon and tripled the amount of ginger. Turned out great. I would recommend Imagine Foods' Organic Free Range Chicken Broth for lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I thought this was good but a little bland. I tried the Firecracker Grilled Alaska Salmon & liked that one better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This was great. My husband and I both thought it tasted really good, was very simple and fast to make. We don't have a steamer (well, we do but it's packed up right now) so we put the salmon in a glass pie plate and put that on top of an inverted stainless steel bowl in a large shallow stock pot. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Miso Salmon and Kale Chips

What's cooking in San Rafael? Michelle's quick miso salmon and kale chips.

How to Make Salmon Croquettes

See how to make quick salmon croquettes with a spicy Cajun remoulade sauce.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States