China Lake Barbequed Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2002
Great recipe. However, if you plan on marinading for a long time make sure to use a very low sodium soy sauce or else the steaks will be far to salty. Otherwise great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
I used minced garlic, added to the marinade;scored the steak on both sides & left the steak & marinade in a ziplock bag for about 20 hours, turning every few hours. I broiled this about 6" from the heat for about 10 minutes per side, and it came out medium rare in the middle.I sliced the whole thing against the grain in thin slices, and poured the BOILED marinade (after it cooled) over the leftovers. I have been enjoying this for days-reheats very well in the microwave for a minute for several slices-they don't get tough! Next time, I might use a low-sodium soy sauce! This is a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good. I used olive oil instead of veg. oil, low sodium soy sauce and minced garlic vs. garlic powder. I scored the steak slightly and poured everything into a ziploc bag. I let it marinate for about 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2000
This marinade adds a ton of flavor to flank steak it also made the meat very tender. In the past I have always typically marinaded my flank steak in teriyaki sauce, however this recipe is certain to make me change my ways . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was a really good combo of flavors. Soy and lemon go good together. Like another reviewer, I too added a tablespoon of brown sugar and a dash of onion powder and ginger. I started marinating in the morning and grilled later that evening..(about 6-7 hours) and the flavor was fantastic. A little on the salty side, but we still enjoyed our steaks very much. Thanks Bobbie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I make basically the same recipe and it is flexible. I generally add some frozen orange juice, fresh ginger, often rum or tequila, honey, and always some red pepper flakes. No measuring required. I just add a dash or this or a gurgle of that into the bag and give it a shake. If I run into flank steak on sale and I'm going to freeze it, I just freeze it in the marinate. Once it defrost I have a instant meal. This is awesome sliced very thin with a fresh orange salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
Being that the weather is 60+ degrees outside today, I was very excited to grill and was even more excited to make this recipe. I am so glad the recipe exceeded my expectations! Other than adding a TBLS of brown sugar to the marinade, I didn't change a thing. We started these by 10am and grilled around 6pm. Everyone was very pleased and the steaks were both flavorful and tender. My roommate made me promise not to lose this recipe...which I won't! Thanks Bobbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Excellent! I only marinated for about 3 hours and it was still really good. I used real chopped garlic, rubbed it into the steak and about 1/4 of a cup of brown sugar. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
It came out really good. Way better then I was expecting. I marinated the steaks over night. They were filled with flavor all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
EASY and tasty! I also added some brown sugar to the marinate and the taste is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PACEGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States