China Lake Barbequed Steak Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I made this last night with a tenderloin. Yummy! I marinated for 6 hours and used fresh garlic. I will use this easy marinate on pork or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I agree; a great tasting steak, but it is NOT an inexpensive cut of meat. I've seen it in the store priced at 8.00 - 10.00 a pound. Good, but not cheap!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I've been grilling flank steak for years. Try scoring the steak diagonally with a sharp knife before marinating. This will help to break down the muscle and assist the marinate to permeate the meat more effectively. I score diagonally from right to left on one side, turn it over and score it in the opposite direction on the other side. The score only needs to be a few millimeters deep. Try it and then marinate. Try using this for fajitas too. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Fantastic recipe, even if you cannot marinate for a long time. A couple hours will still make for a juicy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was sooo tender GRILLED ON MY BARBECQUE! Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was really tasty . I used low sodium soy sauce and 2 cloves of minced garlic in place of the garlic powder in the marinade. I marinated the steak for 8 hours and then grilled the steak to med-rare and let it rest for 5 minutes before slicing it. The meat turned out to be more tender than a NY loin steak. Next time, I'll add freshly grated ginger to the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Good flavor...good tip on the salt in soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Ginger. I love this recipe but I also add ginger to the marinade. When slicing go across the grain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I make basically the same recipe and it is flexible. I generally add some frozen orange juice, fresh ginger, often rum or tequila, honey, and always some red pepper flakes. No measuring required. I just add a dash or this or a gurgle of that into the bag and give it a shake. If I run into flank steak on sale and I'm going to freeze it, I just freeze it in the marinate. Once it defrost I have a instant meal. This is awesome sliced very thin with a fresh orange salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I've done this recipe for MANY (over 30?) years. It is also very good with tougher cuts of met, cut into kabob cubes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Garlic Fennel Flank Steak with Oranges

See how to make flavorful flank steak with grilled oranges.

Tuscan Flank Steak

See how to make a simple but amazing marinated flank steak for the grill.

Marinated Flank Steak

See how to make a delicious marinade for flank steaks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States