Chimichurri Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
CookinCowgirls Rock! I live in Mexico and there are an abundance of Argentinian restaurants serving Chimichurri Sauce. None, and I mean None, serve a better sauce than this. I will make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
This really was a good recipe. I changed it quite a bit because used it as a pasta sauce for angel hair pasta and served it with pan seared ginger glazed scallops and pinapple salsa. Anyway, I didn't use the tabasco, instead I added 1 1/2 jalepenos. I used 1/2 cup olive oil, omitted the cumin and used 4 cloves garlic, a dash of lime juice, 1/4 cup fresh parsley instead of 1 cup, used 1/4 cup fresh oregano and 1/4 cup fresh cilantro. I put the jalepeno and garlic in my food processor first and minced it. Then I added the rest of the ingredients and processed until they were all mixed together well. Normally I run cold water over my angel hair pasta to keep it from over cooking after its been drained. This time I drained it, put it in a bowl and then poured the chimichurri sauce on it and mixed it to cool it down and warm the sauce up. It was DELICIOUS. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
My husband said Chimichurri is this hard to find secret recipe, well not anymore!! I am going to try the other variation as well. Thanks for this great Argentinain Secret!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
My introduction to this sauce was over crab cakes and I've used if frequently. This is a nice version: Shallots Fresh Garlic Olive Oil Lemon Parsley Basil or Thyme (Your Choice) Black Pepper Dice Shallots and Garlic; one shallot to one or two large cloves of garlic, mix together in a deep bowl and season to your taste with black pepper. Pour in a good quality olive oil into the bowl until contents is well submerged then stir in diced parsley equal to about 10%-20% of the amount shallots and garlic, add pinches of thyme equal to about 1% of the added parsley. Let the mix sit long enough for any dryed herbs to absorb the oil. Then add lemon juice; for the above, about an once should be enough to bring the sauce to 'sweeten' enough for the lemon to lead in flavor. Served over sauteed crab cakes is one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
SOOOOO AMAZING!!!! I made this dipping sauce today to go with a roasted chicken recipe on here- but I did change it a bit... I didn't have fresh parsley but since I always have (and love) fresh cilantro I used that instead- I figured it would compliment the cumin nicely and it was SOOOOO GOOD! Everyone LOOOOOVVVVEED it!!! I'll try the parsley but the cilantro was so delicious I know I'll use that again. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This is very good. It is an unusual flavor, unlike anything I've tried before, but so fresh and dazzling on the tongue. I tried it on the Simple Roasted Chicken recipe from here and look forward to trying it on some steak or burgers soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I used a bit less oil than called for in the recipe. This was great. I served it with the Simple Whole Roasted Chicken and it was delicious. A keeper. Fast and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
I have never had Chimichurri sauce, so I am rating it 5 because it was really good. I made it along with the Simple Chicken recipe and it worked great together. I wasn't sure I would like it and even my picky hubby really enjoyed it! Thanks for helping to expand our tastebuds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2005
Served in a restaurant, followed recipe and was a hit, put it on ciabatta bun, will have again, maybe put on next menu,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCKITRICK2
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This is great! My family fell in love with the Chimichurri dip that the Gaucho Grill serves with their bread and we were looking to duplicate the recipe. I have to say this one is even better and more flavorful. I can't wait to try it as a marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chimichurri Sauce

See how to make the famous parsley sauce for grilled meats.

How to Make Chimichurri Sauce

This herby, garlicky, tangy condiment is good on just about everything.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States